## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 9**

Unofficial Copy P1 2002 Regular Session 2lr2356

By: Senators Conway, Blount, Currie, Exum, Hughes, Kelley, Lawlah, McFadden, and Mitchell

Introduced and read first time: January 31, 2002

Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

## 2 Miller Senate Building - Cornerstone Inscriptions

- 3 FOR the purpose of providing that the names of the current Governor, Treasurer, and
- 4 Comptroller of Maryland be inscribed on the cornerstone of the Miller Senate
- 5 Building.
- 6 WHEREAS, The cornerstone of the James Senate Office Building includes the
- 7 names of the Governor, Treasurer, and Comptroller of Maryland in office at the time
- 8 of the dedication of the building; and
- 9 WHEREAS, For posterity, the names of the current Governor, Treasurer, and
- 10 Comptroller of Maryland ought to be inscribed on the cornerstone of the Miller Senate
- 11 Building; now, therefore, be it
- 12 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the names
- 13 of the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor, the Honorable Richard N. Dixon,
- 14 Treasurer, and the Honorable William Donald Schaefer, Comptroller be inscribed on
- 15 the cornerstone of the Miller Senate Building; and be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 17 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
- 18 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
- 19 the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.