SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 9

Unofficial Copy P1 2002 Regular Session 2lr2356

By: Senators Conway, Blount, Currie, Exum, Hughes, Kelley, Lawlah,
McFadden, and Mitchell
Introduced and read first time: January 31, 2002
Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments
Senate action: Adopted
Read second time: February 28, 2002

RESOLUTION NO._____

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

- 1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning
- 2 Miller Senate Building Cornerstone Inscriptions
- 3 FOR the purpose of providing that the names of the current Governor, Treasurer, and
- 4 Comptroller of Maryland who were in office at the time of completion of the
- 5 <u>Miller Senate Building</u> be inscribed on the cornerstone of the Miller Senate
- 6 Building.
- WHEREAS, The cornerstone of the James Senate Office Building includes the
- $8\,$ names of the Governor, Treasurer, and Comptroller of Maryland in office at the time
- 9 of the dedication of the building; and
- WHEREAS, For posterity, the names of the current Governor, Treasurer, and
- 11 Comptroller of Maryland who were in office at the time of completion of the Miller
- 12 Senate <u>Building</u> ought to be inscribed on the cornerstone of the Miller Senate
- 13 Building; now, therefore, be it
- 14 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the names
- 15 of the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor, the Honorable Richard N. Dixon,
- 16 Treasurer, and the Honorable William Donald Schaefer, Comptroller be inscribed on
- 17 the cornerstone of the Miller Senate Building; and be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 19 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
- 20 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
- 21 the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.