Unofficial Copy M4

By: **Senators Middleton and Stoltzfus** Introduced and read first time: January 31, 2002 Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

2

## **Preservation of Agricultural Land**

3 FOR the purpose of establishing a statewide goal to preserve 1.1 million acres of 4 agricultural land in Maryland.

5 WHEREAS, Agricultural land is an exhaustible resource of the State which, 6 once removed from agriculture, is forever lost for crop and food production, and for 7 open space uses; and

8 WHEREAS, Although approximately 35% of Maryland's total land area is 9 farmland, Maryland's agricultural land is still rapidly disappearing, with an 10 estimated 18,000 acres of farmland annually being converted to urban, commercial, or 11 other nonagricultural use; and

WHEREAS, Global economic trends, continuing development pressures, the
encroachment of strip and scattered development in rural areas and nearby cities,
and growing urbanization, threaten the destruction of Maryland's rural environment
and the disappearance of its valuable agricultural land for agricultural purposes; and

16 WHEREAS, Maryland should not become one large urban development without17 any balanced agricultural economy; and

18 WHEREAS, It is generally essential to Maryland's economic and environmental 19 stability and growth, and particularly to maintain an agricultural economy in the

20 State, to preserve large, contiguous areas of prime and productive agricultural land;

21 now, therefore, be it

22 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 23 statewide goal is to preserve 1.1 million acres of productive agricultural land by the 24 year 2022; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; the
Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates; the Secretary of
Agriculture; the Secretary of Natural Resources; and the Secretary of Planning.