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Health - Blood Donation - Minors 
 
 
This bill provides that a minor who is at least 16 years old may donate blood after 
obtaining a parent’s or legal guardian’s consent.  Consent may be given by telephone or 
electronic means.  The bill also clarifies that a minor who is at least 17 years old may 
donate blood without the consent of a legal guardian. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  None.  The change would not directly affect government operations or 
finances. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A minor at least 17 years old may give blood without a parent’s consent  
to a voluntary program that does not pay for the donation.  The American Association of 
Blood Banks or the American Red Cross must approve the program. 
 
Background:  The American Red Cross counted 1,323 blood donors who were 17 years 
old and gave blood during fiscal 2001 in the nonprofit’s Greater Chesapeake and 
Potomac Region.  The region covers most of Maryland, except the Eastern Shore, and a 
few counties in Pennsylvania and northern Virginia. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of 
Legislative Services  
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