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  Driver Improvement and Alcohol Education Programs and Point System 
Conferences - Private Providers 

 

  
This bill allows the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to refuse to approve or 
withdraw approval of private providers of point system conferences or alcohol education 
or driver improvement programs if the MVA determines that the provider is in serious 
violation of its approved contract.  The MVA must first give the provider notice and an 
opportunity for a hearing.  The bill also authorizes the provider to set a reasonable fee for 
individuals who participate in the conferences or programs.   
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The bill’s requirements could be handled with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The MVA may conduct a driver improvement program, an alcohol 
education program and point system conferences to provide driver rehabilitation.  The 
MVA must determine the content of the programs and conferences and set a reasonable 
fee based on the costs of operating the programs and conferences that participants must 
pay in advance.  The funds collected from this fee may not be credited to the Gasoline 
and Motor Vehicle Revenue Account.  
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The MVA may waive attendance at an alcohol education program, driver improvement 
program, or point system conference that it conducts if an individual attends an approved 
program or conference conducted by a private provider or a political subdivision.  The 
MVA must establish criteria for private and local government providers.  Upon 
application for approval to provide the programs and conferences, a private provider must 
pay an application fee established by the MVA. 
 
If the Maryland Vehicle Law or a rule or regulation of the MVA provides that an 
applicant or licensee may request a hearing on refusal, suspension, or revocation of a 
license or privilege, the MVA must give the applicant or licensee written notice of the 
refusal, suspension, or revocation and the right of the applicant or licensee to request a 
hearing. Except as otherwise provided in the Maryland Vehicle Law, the applicant or 
licensee may request a hearing within 15 days from the date that the notice required by 
this section is mailed.  The hearing must be held within 30 days of the date of the request.  
The MVA must render a decision within 30 days of a hearing. 
 
State Expenditures:  The MVA advises that it would cost approximately $900 annually 
to conduct the additional hearings required under the bill.  The agency terminates about 
ten providers annually; according to the MVA, most of them are terminated for issuing 
certificates of completion to individuals who did not participate in the required program 
or conference.  The Department of Legislative Services advises that these costs could be 
absorbed within the agency’s existing resources.  
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   None.    
 
Cross File:   None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Office of Administrative Hearings, Department of 
Transportation, Department of Legislative Services         
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