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This bill decreases the number of vehicles (from five to three) that a person may offer to 
sell within a 12-month period before being considered a dealer.  The bill establishes a 
presumption that a person who offers to sell three or more vehicles during any 12-month 
period acquired the vehicles for resale purposes and places the burden of rebutting the 
presumption (by a preponderance of evidence) on the vehicle owner.  It also increases the 
penalty for selling vehicles without a dealer’s license from a maximum fine of $1,000 
and six months in prison to a fine of up to $5,000 and one year imprisonment. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would increase by $48,400 
in FY 2003 for start-up supplies and additional personnel. Future year expenditures 
reflect annualization and inflation.  Potential minimal increase in general fund 
expenditures due to the bill’s penalty provision.  Potential minimal increase in revenues 
from increases in dealer license fees and the bill’s increased penalty.  It is expected that 
the bill’s provisions could be handled within the existing resources of the court and law 
enforcement agencies. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 
SF Revenue - - - - - 
SF Expenditure 48,400 43,500 45,600 47,800 50,200 
Net Effect ($48,400) ($43,500) ($45,600) ($47,800) ($50,200) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in expenditures due to the bill’s penalty 
provision. 
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Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal.  To the extent that the bill eliminates 
fraudulent car selling practices, vehicle dealers that are small businesses will benefit.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A person is considered a dealer if the individual offers more than four 
vehicles for resale within a 12-month period from a fixed location used regularly for the 
purpose of selling vehicles.  Vehicle dealers must obtain and annually renew a license 
from the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) that states the type of vehicles in which 
the licensee may deal, the locations from which the dealer can sell vehicles, and the make 
of new vehicles in which the licensee may deal.  The dealer must comply with State laws 
governing sales contracts, including wholesale restrictions, surety bonds, location and 
service requirements, vehicle shows, advertising practices, and other relevant practice 
issues. 
 
The MVA may refuse to grant a license or suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew the license 
of a person if it finds that the person has failed to comply with any of the provisions of 
the Maryland Vehicle Law relating to the registration of vehicles, certificates of title, and 
the sale of vehicles, or violated other provisions of Maryland Vehicle Law.  Any person 
convicted of a first offense of operating without a dealer’s or salesman’s license is subject 
to a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment up to six months or both.  Conviction 
of a subsequent offense carries a maximum fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment 
for up to one year or both. 
 
Background:  State and local law enforcement agencies have been struggling to combat 
a practice called curbstoning in which unlicensed persons sell used vehicles that are often 
stolen, untitled, or damaged without collect titling fees or taxes owed to the State.  
Experts estimate that 80% of the used cars advertised in the classifieds are sold by 
curbstoners, according to a Joint Chairmen’s Report issued in 2001 and authored by the 
MVA, the Attorney General, and the Office of the Comptroller.  The MVA advises that it 
received 65 cases of curbstoning in calendar 2000 and 180 in calendar 2001.  The MVA 
currently employs 40 investigators who are assigned to various types of cases, including 
curbstoning cases, on an ad hoc basis.  The agency has developed public awareness 
materials and engaged the media to educate consumers about curbstoning. 
 
A customer who buys a car from an unlicensed dealer is often at considerable risk due to 
unseen mechanical problems, the unavailability of a warranty, and/or the absence of a 
title.  The Attorney General’s Office advises that current sanctions are not sufficient to 
discourage curbstoners, who often flee the area before they are caught. 
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State Revenues:  General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court. 
 
State Expenditures:  The MVA advises that it needs four additional investigators to 
comply with the requirements of the bill, which would cost $121,752 in fiscal 2003.  
Under the MVA’s estimate, equipment and operating costs would be an additional 
$70,758, for a total of $192,510. 
 
The Department of Legislative Services (DLS) disagrees and advises that one additional 
investigator could handle any additional curbstoning cases that are expected to be 
generated as a direct result of the bill. 
 
TTF expenditures could increase by $48,375 in fiscal 2003, which accounts for the bill’s 
October 1, 2002 effective date.  This estimate reflects the cost of hiring one investigator 
to assist the MVA comply with the requirements of the bill and includes a salary, fringe 
benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses  
 

Salary and Fringe Benefits $30,686 

Automobile Purchase 11,384 

Operating Expenses     6,305 

Total FY 2003 State Expenditures $48,375 

 
Future year expenditures reflect:  (1) a full salary with 3.5% annual increases and 3% 
employee turnover; and (2) 1% annual increases in ongoing operating expenses. 
 
Additional personnel may be necessary if the bill generates a greater than expected 
number of additional curbstoning cases. 
 
General fund expenditures could also increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
incarceration penalty due to increased payments to counties for reimbursement of inmate 
costs and more people being committed to Division of Correction (DOC) facilities. 
 
Generally, persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than 
Baltimore City are sentenced to a local detention facility.  The State reimburses counties 
for part of their incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 
days.  State per diem reimbursements for fiscal 2003 are estimated to range from $10 to 
$61 per inmate depending upon the jurisdiction.  Persons sentenced to such a term in 
Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in a DOC facility.  Currently, the DOC average 
total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,850 per month.  This bill 
alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, personnel, or facilities.  
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Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC inmate (including medical 
care and variable costs) is $300 per month. 
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures could increase as a result of the bill’s incarceration 
penalty.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for the first 90 days of the sentence, 
plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  Per diem operating costs of local detention 
facilities are expected to range from $20 to $84 per inmate in fiscal 2003. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration), 
Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
lsc/cer    

First Reader - February 5, 2002 
Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 19, 2002 
 

 
Analysis by:  Ann Marie Maloney  Direct Inquiries to: 

John Rixey, Coordinating Analyst 
(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




