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  Criminal Law - Housing Assistance - Fraud Ho. Co. 11-02 
 

  
This bill makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly make a false statement of a material fact 
to influence a housing agency regarding an application for housing assistance or an action 
affecting housing aid already provided.  A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject 
to a fine not exceeding $5,000 or imprisonment not exceeding three years, or both.   
 
The bill defines housing assistance as financial assistance offered to obtain housing based 
on need under a program administered by a housing agency and financed wholly or 
partially by federal, State, or local funds.  Financial assistance under the bill is defined as 
any form of assurance, guarantee, grant, payment or other assistance, including a loan, 
loan guarantee, or reduction in the principal obligations of or rate of interest payable on a 
loan or portion of a loan.  Housing agencies include local housing authorities and the 
Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD). 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due 
to the bill’s penalty provisions. 
  
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in revenues and expenditures from the bill’s 
penalty provisions.   
  
Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal.   
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Any person who applies for a loan may not knowingly make or cause any 
false statement or report to be made to influence DHCD’s action on a loan application or 
a loan already made for the following programs:  Rental Housing Production, Group 
Home Financing, Settlement Expense Loan, Partnership Rental Housing, Lead Hazard 
Reduction Grant, and Lead Hazard Reduction Loans.  A violator is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and upon conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $50,000 or 
imprisonment not exceeding five years or both.  
 
A person who commits these actions for an application involving the Maryland Home 
Financing or Maryland Housing Rehabilitation programs is also guilty of a misdemeanor 
and, upon conviction, is subject to a fine not exceeding $5,000 or imprisonment not 
exceeding two years or both.  In addition, every borrower under the Housing 
Rehabilitation Program who knowingly makes or causes to be made a false statement or 
report may be subject to immediate acceleration of the loan for which the borrower is 
liable, at DHCD’s discretion.  
 
Background:  DHCD advises that it is a misdemeanor to make a false statement on 
applications for most of its programs; however, a few programs such as Elderly Rental 
Housing are exempt.  It further advises that the types of assistance generally offered by 
housing authorities, such as leases for property rentals and Section 8 vouchers, may not 
be considered financial assistance under the legislation.  However, it notes that Section 8 
vouchers would also be covered by federal laws that prohibit housing fraud.  
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court. 
 
State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of 
the bill’s incarceration penalty due to more people being committed to Division of 
Correction (DOC) facilities and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of 
inmate costs.  The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be 
minimal.  The Division of Correction advises that there were only 12 intakes for fraud-
related crime in 2001. 
 
Generally, persons serving a sentence longer than one year are incarcerated in DOC 
facilities.  Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 
$1,850 per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional 
beds, personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new 
DOC inmate (including medical care and variable costs) is $300 per month. 
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Local Revenues:  Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary 
penalty provision from cases heard in the circuit courts. 
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
incarceration penalty.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their 
facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  
Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $20 to 
$84 per inmate in fiscal 2003.  Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the circuit courts. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   An identical bill was introduced as HB 1297 during the 2001 
session and given an unfavorable report by the Judiciary Committee.    
 
Cross File:   None. However, an identical bill has been introduced as HB 1080.    
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Housing and Community Development, 
Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Department of Legislative 
Services         
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