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Economic Matters     
 

  Health Insurance - Mental Illness - Coverage Period for Children 
 

  
This bill provides that if a health insurance policy covers inpatient treatment of acute or 
chronic mental illness at a hospital or residential treatment facility for children, the 
coverage must extend from the date of admission to the facility to the date when the child 
becomes potentially eligible for Medicaid coverage.   
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal special fund revenue increase for the Maryland Insurance 
Administration (MIA) from MIA’s $125 rate and form filing fee.  Minimal general fund 
revenue increase from the State’s 2% premium tax.  No effect on expenditures. 
  
Local Effect:  Expenditures for local jurisdiction employee health benefits could increase 
by an indeterminate amount depending upon the current type of health care coverage 
offered and number of enrollees.  Revenues would not be affected.  
 
Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Maryland’s mental health mandate requires a health insurer, nonprofit 
health services plan, or HMO (carrier) to provide coverage for mental health services on 
the same terms as physical illness.  Mental health benefits may be provided through a 
carrier’s managed care system.  Carriers subject to State regulation must include a 
minimum of 60 days partial hospitalization for mental illness under the same terms and 
conditions that apply to the benefits available under the contract for physical illnesses.  A 
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carrier is not required to cover inpatient treatment of mental illness for a child from the 
date of admission to the date when the child becomes eligible for Medicaid.      
 
Background:  Children admitted to a residential treatment center (RTC) for mental 
illness treatment generally stay in the RTC for 30 days to one year.  If a child resides in 
an RTC for more than 30 days, he or she is considered a “family of one” for the purposes 
of determining Medicaid eligibility.  Once Medicaid eligibility is determined, Medicaid 
will pay for coverage dating back to the first of the month in which a child became 
eligible for Medicaid coverage.  Often, this process leads to gaps in coverage if an 
insurance policy only pays for a few days of inpatient treatment, depending on the initial 
date of hospitalization or inpatient treatment.     
 
According to the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC), the annualized full cost of 
Maryland’s current mental health mandated benefit is $265 per group policy.  The 
commission estimates that this cost represents 4.7% of the full cost per group policy.  
Maryland’s mental health mandate currently is the most costly mandated health insurance 
benefit analyzed by MHCC.      
 
State Fiscal Effect:  The State Employee Health Benefits Plan currently provides 
inpatient mental health treatment coverage for children under an enrollee’s medical plan.  
Under the Preferred Provider Option (PPO) and Point-of-Service (POS) plan, there is no 
limit on the number of days covered under the State plan if treatment is medically 
necessary. Under the HMO option, inpatient treatment up to 365 days is covered if 
treatment is approved by the HMO.  Accordingly, the bill’s requirements have no impact 
on the State plan.    
 
Small Business Effect:  Small businesses (fewer than 50 employees) purchase the 
Comprehensive Standard Health Benefit Plan (CSHBP), which is exempt from including 
mandated benefits in its coverage.  All carriers participating in the small business market 
must sell the CSHBP to any small business that applies for it.  A small business may 
purchase riders to expand the covered services.  In addition, the Maryland Health Care 
Commission takes mandated benefits into consideration when reevaluating the CSHBP 
benefit package.  The CSHBP currently provides coverage for inpatient mental illness 
and substance abuse services provided through a carrier’s managed care system up to a 
maximum of 25 days per covered person per year in a hospital or related institution.  
Small business health insurance costs may increase if carriers increase their premiums as 
a result of this bill.  Any increase is assumed to be minimal. 
 
 



 

HB 891 / Page 3 

 
Additional Information 

 
Prior Introductions:   None.    
 
Cross File:   None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (Maryland Health 
Care Commission), Maryland Insurance Administration, Department of Budget and 
Management (Employee Benefits Division), Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
lsc/cer    

First Reader - March 1, 2002 
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