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  Transportation - Failing to Stop for a School Vehicle with Activated Flashing 
Lights - Penalties 

 

  
This bill increases, from three to five, the number of points assessed against a driver who 
fails to stop for a school vehicle that is stopped with activated alternatively flashing red 
lights.  It also increases the maximum fine for failure to stop for a school vehicle from 
$500 to $1,000.   
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential increase in general fund revenue due to the increased penalty 
assessed for this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law.  The increase depends on the 
number of convictions, which cannot be determined beforehand.  General fund 
expenditures could increase if the District Court cannot handle the increased number of 
trials with existing resources.  
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  If a school vehicle has stopped on a roadway and is operating alternately 
flashing red lights, the driver of any other vehicle meeting or overtaking the school 
vehicle must stop at least 20 feet from the rear of the school vehicle, if approaching the 
school vehicle from its rear, or at least 20 feet from the front of the school vehicle, if 
approaching the school vehicle from its front.  Violators may be assessed three points and 
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are subject to a maximum $500 penalty under the Maryland Vehicle Law.  Drivers who 
elect not to contest the violation are subject to a $270 pre-pay penalty.  
 
If a school vehicle has stopped on a roadway and is operating alternately flashing red 
lights, the driver of any other vehicle meeting or overtaking the school vehicle may not 
proceed until the school vehicle resumes motion or the alternately flashing red lights are 
deactivated.  Violators may be assessed up to three points and are subject to a $500 fine. 
Drivers who elect not to contest the violation are subject to a $270 pre-pay penalty.   This 
requirement does not apply to the driver of a vehicle on a divided highway, if the school 
vehicle is on a different roadway.    
 
Violations for which a $1,000 fine can currently be assessed include reckless or negligent 
driving and submitting a fraudulent application for a certificate of title or vehicle 
registration.  
 
Background:  Chapter 332 of 2000 created a nonlapsing fund (through fiscal 2005) that 
allows the Department of State Police to provide annual grants of up to $35,000 to local 
law enforcement agencies to better enforce illegal passing of school vehicles.  It also 
increased the number of points assessed against a violator from two to three.  The State 
Police report that local law enforcement agencies have been meeting with local school 
boards and pupil transportation boards to identify problem areas and develop effective 
enforcement programs.  
  
State Effect:  The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) advises that 979 drivers were 
charged with overtaking a stopped school vehicle in calendar 2000.  General fund 
revenues would increase depending on the number of people assessed a higher fine.   
 
The District Court of Maryland advises that increased fines can generate a significant 
increase in the number of defendants who choose to appear for trial.  Any need for 
additional judges, court staff, or court facilities depends on the number of new trials, 
which cannot be reliably estimated at this time.  The MVA advises that it can handle the 
requirements of the bill with existing resources.  
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   None.        
 
Cross File:   HB 276 (Garrett County Delegation and Anne Arundel County Delegation) 
– Commerce and Government Matters.    
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Information Source(s):   Allegany County, Department of Transportation, Judiciary 
(Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of State Police, Department of 
Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/cer    

First Reader - February 5, 2002 
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