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  Controlled Dangerous Substance Crimes - Drug Treatment 
 

  
This bill establishes that a person convicted of possessing or administering a controlled 
dangerous substance or of manufacturing, distributing, possessing with intent to 
distribute, or dispensing a controlled dangerous substance must receive probation if the 
person, at the time of the arrest that leads to the conviction, tests positive for one 
controlled dangerous substance involved in the crime.  The bill also requires that 
participation in and completion of an inpatient, residential, or outpatient drug treatment 
program must be a condition of such a probation.   
 
The bill provides that a court may not impose imprisonment as an additional condition of 
probation in such cases.  The Division of Parole and Probation may petition the court to 
revoke such a probation if the drug treatment provider provides notification that the 
person is unamenable to treatment. 
 
The bill’s provisions do not apply to a person sentenced as a “volume dealer.” 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential significant increases in drug treatment costs and decreases in 
incarceration costs beginning in FY 2003.  Under one set of assumptions, general fund 
expenditures could increase by at least $15 million annually. 
  
Local Effect:  Potential significant decreases in incarceration costs and increases in costs 
for police agencies making drug-related arrests.  
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Maryland’s prohibition against “possessing or administering controlled 
dangerous substance” provides that a person may not:  (1) possess or administer to 
another a controlled dangerous substance, unless obtained directly or by prescription or 
order from an authorized provider acting in the course of professional practice; or (2) 
obtain or attempt to obtain a controlled dangerous substance, or procure or attempt to 
procure the administration of a controlled dangerous substance by: 
 

• fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or subterfuge; 

• the counterfeiting or alteration of a prescription or a written order; 

• the concealment of a material fact; 

• the use of a false name or address; 

• falsely assuming the title of or representing to be a manufacturer, distributor, or 
authorized provider; or  

• making, issuing, or presenting a false or counterfeit prescription or written order. 
 
Information that is communicated to a physician in an effort to obtain a controlled 
dangerous substance in violation of this section is not a privileged communication.  A 
violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of a fine of 
$25,000 and/or imprisonment for four years.  When the controlled dangerous substance is 
marijuana, the maximum penalties are a fine of $1,000 and/or imprisonment for one year. 
 
Maryland’s prohibition against “manufacturing, distributing, possession with intent to 
distribute, or dispensing controlled dangerous substance” provides that a person may not:  
(1) manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled dangerous substance; or (2) possess a 
controlled dangerous substance in sufficient quantity reasonably to indicate under all 
circumstances an intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled dangerous 
substance. A violator is guilty of a felony and subject to maximum penalties of a fine of 
$15,000 and/or imprisonment for five years.  A repeat offender is subject to a mandatory 
minimum, nonsuspendable, nonparolable sentence of two years.    
 
For some controlled dangerous substances (e.g., heroin, cocaine, LSD, and PCP) a 
conviction subjects a person to imprisonment for 20 years and/or a fine of either $20,000 
or $25,000, depending on the substance.  For these substances, there are mandatory 
minimum sentences of 10 years (second offender), 25 years (third offender), and 40 years 
(fourth or subsequent offender).  In addition, this offense involving certain large 
quantities of specified controlled dangerous substances subjects a person to a mandatory 
minimum sentence of five years.  Under the bill, a person who is convicted of an offense 
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involving these large quantities is not subject to the mandatory probation requirements of 
the bill and would therefore be sentenced to the mandatory prison term.      
 
Background:  Several states have recently begun to look at mandatory alternatives to 
incarceration for offenders with underlying drug dependencies.  California’s Proposition 
36 took into effect in July 2001 and imposes treatment rather than imprisonment for first-
and many second-time drug possession offenses.  The conviction is then automatically 
removed from the person’s record after he or she completes treatment. It is expected that 
as many as 36,000 offenders in California will be diverted from prison annually. The 
legislative analyst’s office estimates that the program could save the state between $200 
million and $250 million annually.  
 
California counties, however, must quickly expand drug treatment programs, including 
building new treatment facilities instead of prisons. 
 
Arizona established a similar program four years ago because of a citizen initiative. 
People convicted of drug possession have their sentences suspended, are placed on 
probation, and assigned to a drug treatment or education program. Those who violate 
probation may be ordered by the court to participate in intensified drug treatment, 
community service, intensive probation, home arrest, or any other sanction short of 
incarceration. An analysis by the Arizona Administrative Office of the Courts showed the 
program was getting people off drugs and saving the state money. In fiscal 1998, the state 
saved $5 million in prison costs while spending $2.1 million on substance abuse 
treatment. The report said that the drug treatment and education funds were adequate to 
meet the increased demand for services under the diversion program, and the majority of 
offenders were completing treatment and passing drug tests.   
 
However, it is noted that three wealthy philanthropists largely funded the California and 
Arizona initiatives. It is anticipated that Ohio, Michigan, and Florida likely will vote in 
2002 on statewide ballot proposals similar to the Arizona and California programs.  The 
Nevada legislature will begin a pilot program in which 150 prisoners will be released 6 
months early on the condition that they participate in a court-supervised treatment 
program for at least a year.  The Nebraska legislature is considering a measure to grant 
probation with treatment for minor drug offenses.   
 
In Utah, drug offenders make up 22% of the prisoners and with the state spending about 
$23,000 per year to house an inmate, a commission is slated to examine less expensive 
options, including day reporting centers, court-supervised treatment programs or 
electronic monitoring. 
 
In New York, two competing proposals would reduce mandatory sentences and include 
treatment alternatives for nonviolent drug offenders. Governor George Pataki’s proposal 
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would reduce mandatory sentences for the most serious nonviolent drug offenses from 15 
years to life down to 10 years to life, while the Assembly Democrats want to give judges 
the discretion to select from a sentencing range of 5 to 25 years, not life. This reform is 
estimated to save as much as $100 million, growing to $160 million annually. 
 
In New Mexico in 2001, the legislature passed a package that shifts the emphasis in drug 
cases from law enforcement to public health. The new law provides an additional $9.8 
million in the first year of a three-year program to expand drug treatment services.  
 
Also in 2001, U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer (CA) recently introduced S 160 (Drug Abuse 
Treatment on Demand Assistance Act) that would provide grants to any state that has a 
drug treatment program as an alternative to incarceration. The measure would provide 
matching funds to such states and would double federal treatment spending from $3 
billion annually to $6 billion.  In all, it is estimated that states are spending about $20 
billion annually to fight illegal drug use.    
 
State Fiscal Effect:  It is difficult to ascertain or predict how many offenders could be 
affected under the provisions of this bill.  According to the most recent Uniform Crime 
Report, there were 42,919 drug-related arrests in the State in 1999.  Baltimore City 
experienced the greatest share of those arrests with 17,837 occurring in the city. 
 
Of the Division of Correction’s (DOC) annual intake of about 12,000 persons, 
approximately 5,000 are there as a result of a drug-related offense.  However, because 
drug violation categories for intake purposes are not clearly defined, DOC is unable to 
precisely quantify the number of offenders who would be affected by this bill.  In 
addition, an unknown number of persons receive jail sentences annually for terms of less 
than one year to 18 months, and serve those sentences at local detention facilities.  It is 
also unknown how many persons annually receive suspended sentences, probation before 
judgment, or probation after judgment for the offenses covered under the bill. 
 
The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) advises that the cost of 
inpatient drug treatment is about $13,500 per bed, annually.   For purposes of illustration, 
if half (2,500) of the current DOC intake for drug-related offenses were to test positive 
for a controlled dangerous substance and receive probation under the bill, the following 
annual fiscal impacts would occur: 
 

• with a potential need for as many as ten additional special program coordinators to 
arrange treatment program entry for 2,500 persons, DHMH personnel costs could 
increase by about $540,000, annually; 

• two-thirds of the treatment intake, or 1,666 persons, would require in-patient 
treatment at an annual cost of about $22,491,000, which will be borne by DHMH; 
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• assuming a client/agent ratio of 110 to 1, the Division of Parole and Probation 
could need an additional 22 agents at an annual cost of about $836,000; and  

• assuming annual variable inmate costs of $3,600, inmate costs for DOC would 
decline by $9 million, annually. 

 
Accordingly, without knowing how many persons now receiving probation for the 
covered offense would require treatment referrals under the bill, and without knowing 
how many persons are annually sent to local detention facilities for the covered offenses, 
and if intake assumptions used in the illustration above remain relatively constant, this 
bill could increase State expenditures by at least $15 million annually.  It is also noted 
that the cost reductions for DOC may only be temporary depending on the success of 
treatment and recidivist rates for individual offenders after treatment.    
 
Local Fiscal Effect:  The bill predicates a court’s decision to order probation in lieu of 
imprisonment for specified misdemeanor and felony drug-related offenses on the results 
of a drug test administered at the time of arrest, although the police are not required under 
the bill to administer such tests.  Taking drug test samples at arrest is not now a common 
practice or procedure of police agencies.  Absent a requirement in the bill for police to 
administer drug tests at the time of arrest, it is assumed that police agencies would not 
change current arrest procedures unless ordered by the courts.   
 
Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether this bill would lead to mandatory drug tests at the 
time of arrest for the specified drug offenses covered under the bill.  In any event, if 
police agencies were to begin taking test samples at arrest, it is assumed that such a 
practice would generally involve the taking of urine samples.  The cost of administering a 
standard urine-based drug test is about $5 per test. It should be noted that some 
substances are not amenable to testing with urine samples, and would require more 
expensive blood samples and analyses. 
 
Drug test costs would be incurred in all jurisdictions in the State, but will be incurred 
with the greatest frequency in Baltimore City, which accounted for 17,837 of the drug-
related arrests in 1999. Accordingly, assuming that drug arrests remain relatively constant 
(not an assumption that necessarily should be made), Baltimore City’s costs associated 
with drug-related arrests would increase by about $89,000.  These costs do not include 
any related storage or chain-of-custody costs that may emerge. 
 
Prince George’s County reports that, if the courts were to order testing, the police would 
likely take the sample at the time of arrest/booking, and save the analysis to be done only 
after conviction in order for the bill’s provisions to be implemented.  The county believes 
that, since the cost of a urine sample is small, the drawing of the sample could be 
accommodated at central booking with existing resources.  However, actual urine or 
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blood analysis for a variety of substances could involve additional costs and may have to 
be contracted out to private firms. 
 
Depending on the costs associated with analysis and assuming that referral and treatment 
costs would be borne by DHMH, this bill could significantly reduce local correctional 
costs.  However, such a cost reduction may only be temporary depending on the success 
of treatment and recidivist rates for individual offenders after treatment.  
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:    None.       
 
Cross File:    None.       
 
Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of 
Public Safety and Correctional Services (Division of Correction, Division of Parole and 
Probation), Prince George’s County, Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
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