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  Criminal Procedure - Sexual Offenders - Registration 
 

 
This departmental bill requires all persons who have been convicted of a prior crime as a 
“child sexual offender,” an “offender,” or a “sexually violent offender” (as defined) to 
register with the Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry for life.  The bill 
also eliminates required registration for a person if the underlying conviction requiring 
registration is reversed, vacated, or set aside, or if the registrant is pardoned for the 
underlying conviction. 
 
  

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  This bill would prevent the loss of expected federal fund revenue (in the 
form of grants from the Edward J. Byrne Memorial State and Local Law Enforcement 
Assistance Fund) of about $900,000 annually beginning in FY 2003.   It is unclear as to 
whether the $900,000 in expected grant funds for FY 2002 will be affected.  Although an 
expanded list of required lifetime registrations may eventually lead to a need for 
additional resources, for the foreseeable future the provisions of this bill could be handled 
with the existing budgeted resources of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional 
Services (DPSCS). 
  
Local Effect:  Although an expanded list of required lifetime registrations may 
eventually lead to a need for additional local resources, for the foreseeable future the 
provisions of this bill could be handled with the existing budgeted resources of local 
government agencies serving as supervising authorities. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  “Sexually violent offense” is defined as first or second degree rape; first, 
second, or third degree sexual offense; attempted rape or sexual offense; or assault with 
intent to commit first or second degree rape or first or second degree sexual offense as 
prohibited under Maryland’s criminal code on or before September 30, 1996. 
 
“Sexually violent predator” means a person who:  (1) is convicted of a subsequent 
sexually violent offense; and (2) has been determined to be at risk of committing another 
sexually violent offense. 
 
Sexual offenders are required to register with the Crimes Against Children and Sexual 
Offender Registry for a term of either ten years or life, depending on the offense.  Under 
the State’s sexual offender registration laws, a State’s Attorney may request that a repeat 
sexual offender be designated a sexually violent predator. 
 
Lifetime registration is required for:  (1) persons determined to be sexually violent 
predators; (2) persons convicted of first or second-degree rape or first, second, or third 
degree sexual offense; and (3) recidivist offenders previously required to register. 
 
Background:  This bill reflects the recommendations of DPSCS to ensure compliance 
with the federal mandate from the U.S. Department of Justice with respect to lifetime 
registration.  Maryland first enacted sexual offender registration legislation under the 
federal Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender 
Registration Program during the 1995 session (Chapter 142 of 1995).  Because the 
federal statute has been amended and because there have been updates and changes to 
federal regulations, State laws underwent revisions in 1997 (Chapter 754) and 1998 
(Chapters 473 and 521).  In 1999, legislation was enacted (Chapter 317) to bring 
Maryland in compliance with Wetterling guidelines by extending lifetime registration to 
individuals convicted of aggravated or subsequent offenses. 
 
States that receive federal grants from the Edward J. Byrne Memorial State and Local 
Law Enforcement Assistance Fund have for a number of years been required to register 
all sexual offenders for life or risk the loss of 10% of their annual grants.  In June, 
Maryland was among 14 states advised by the U.S. Bureau of Justice Assistance that the 
10% cuts would be made beginning with fiscal 2002 starting October 1.  The State has 
asked the U.S. Department of Justice to delay imposing such penalties until after this 
legislative session in order to clarify its standards.  Byrne grants to the State total 
approximately $9 million, so about $900,000 of grant funds are at risk. 
 
Differing from federal guidelines is not necessarily a bar to compliance.  For instance, 
Maryland differs from the federal guidelines in the second criteria for predator status in 
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that Maryland defines a sexual predator as “a person who has been determined in 
accordance with this subtitle to be at risk of committing another sexually violent 
offense.”  The federal law imparts potential predator status to a person who “suffers from 
a mental abnormality or personality disorder that makes the person likely to engage in 
predatory sexually violent offenses.”  Mental abnormality is a defined term.  Although 
Maryland’s law differs from the federal law in this regard, its broader application should 
comply with federal law, which allows a state to adopt broader standards. 
 
In any case, Maryland is believed not to be in compliance with federal guidelines relating 
to Byrne funding in three areas: 
 

1. Sexually violent predators - Under the federal guidelines, any individual who 
commits a sexually violent offense (even a first offender) is subject to sexually 
violent predator status.  An additional area of potential noncompliance in the 
sexual predator guidelines relates to the procedure for making the sexually violent 
predator determination.  Maryland allows a court to make the determination, while 
the federal law calls for a board of experts to be created. 

 
2. Aggravated sexual offenses - The federal law requires all persons convicted of an 

aggravated sexual offense to register annually for life.  Aggravated sexual offenses 
under federal law essentially encompass:  (1) engaging or attempting to engage in 
sexual acts involving penetration with victims of any age through the use of force 
or threat of serious violence; and (2) engaging or attempting to engage in sexual 
acts involving penetration with victims under the age of 12.  Maryland law 
requires lifetime registration for persons convicted of: first degree rape; second 
degree rape; first degree sexual offense; second degree sexual offense; and third 
degree sexual offense. 

 
There are two areas of aggravated sexual offense that Maryland’s law omits from 
lifetime registration.  In order to be in compliance with the federal law, Maryland 
must include offenses under the State’s criminal code that involve a sexual act 
involving penetration with a victim under the age of 12, and include attempted 
rape in the first and second degree and attempted sexual offense in the first and 
second degree as offenses requiring lifetime registration. 

 
3. Subsequent/recidivist offenders - Maryland requires lifetime registration for 

subsequent offenders but does not explicitly require this registration if the prior 
crime occurred before Maryland’s registration requirement took effect or the crime 
occurred in another state.  In addition, Maryland law requires lifetime registration 
for a registrant who has been previously required to register and has been 
convicted of a subsequent crime as a child sexual offender or a sexual offender or 
has been convicted of a subsequent sexually violent offense.  The federal 
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guidelines require lifetime registration of a subsequent offender regardless of 
whether the first offense was committed after registration statutes were enacted 
and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the same state in which 
the registrant committed the latest offense. 

 
Maryland law falls short of the federal requirements for three reasons.  First, the current 
law regarding registration of subsequent offenders only applies when the previous 
offense is one for which the offender was required to register, meaning it only applies to 
offenses that occurred after the registration statute was enacted.  Second, because of the 
way sexually violent offense is defined, not all offenses committed outside of the State 
can be considered as prior offenses. Third, sexually violent predator status does not apply 
to first offenders that otherwise fit the criteria. 
 
In addition, the Maryland Court of Appeals held in Graves v. State, 364 Md. 329 (2001) 
that the statutory definition of a “sexually violent predator” does not encompass persons 
who have been convicted of criminal acts committed in another jurisdiction that would 
constitute a sexually violent offense in Maryland. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  Although not identified as a cross file, HB 77 (Delegate Dembrow – 
Judiciary) is identical to this bill.  In addition, SB 55 and SB 56 are identical to this bill. 
 
Information Source(s):  Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, Garrett County, 
Dorchester County, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Department 
of Legislative Services 
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