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  Premium Finance Agreements - Delinquency and Collection Charge - 
Cancellation Charge 

 

  
This bill increases, from $5 to $8, the allowable delinquency and collection charge (late 
fee) that a premium finance company may charge an insured under a premium finance 
agreement for private passenger automobile or personal fire or liability insurance.  The 
bill increases the maximum allowable cancellation charge that a premium finance 
company may charge an insured for private passenger automobile or personal fire or 
liability insurance to the difference between $15 and the amount of the late fee for the 
installment in default. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The bill would not directly affect the operations or finances of the 
Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA).  
  
Local Effect:  None.  
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A premium finance company may charge an insured a delinquency and 
collection charge on each installment that is in default for at least five days, up to 5% of 
the installment in default.  The charge must be at least $1.  However, the installment may 
not exceed:  (1) $5 for private passenger automobile or personal fire or liability 
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insurance; and (2) $100 for commercial automobile, fire, or liability insurance.  Only one 
charge may be collected per installment. 
 
A premium finance company may charge an insured a cancellation charge if a default in 
paying an installment results in the cancellation of an insurance contract listed in the 
premium finance agreement.  For private passenger automobile or personal fire or 
liability insurance, the cancellation charge is the difference between the amount of the 
delinquency and collection charge for the installment in default and $10.  For commercial 
automobile, fire, or liability insurance, the allowable cancellation charge is 5% of the 
installment, up to the difference between the amount of the delinquency and collection 
charge for the installment in default and $100.  If a notice of cancellation is withdrawn 
before its effective date and the insurance is reinstated, the premium finance agreement 
may require an insured to pay a reinstatement charge in the same amount of the allowable 
cancellation charge. 
 
Background:  The Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF) advises that there 
were approximately 37,000 requests for cancellation by premium finance companies of 
MAIF policies because of insureds’ nonpayment in calendar 2001.  If the premium 
finance companies charged the current maximum, the companies would have received 
approximately $370,000 in cancellation charge revenues from MAIF insureds. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  Similar bills, HB 543 and SB 340, were introduced in the 2001 
session.  HB 543 received an unfavorable report from the House Economic Matters 
Committee, and SB 340 received an unfavorable report from the Senate Finance 
Committee.    
 
Cross File:  HB 229 (Delegate Kirk, et al.) – Economic Matters.   
 
Information Source(s):   Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund, Maryland Insurance 
Administration, Department of Legislative Services            
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