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  Family Law - Domestic Violence - Penalty 
 

  
This bill increases the maximum penalties for failing to comply with the relief granted in 
an ex parte or protective order for relief from domestic violence.  A violator is subject to 
a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment not exceeding five years or both.  The bill 
has prospective application. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due 
to the bill’s penalty provisions. 
  
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s 
penalty provisions. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A person who fails to comply with certain types of relief granted in a 
temporary ex parte or a protective order is guilty of a misdemeanor.  Upon conviction for 
a first offense, the penalty is a fine not exceeding $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 
90 days or both.  For a second or subsequent offense, the penalty is a fine not exceeding 
$2,500 or imprisonment not exceeding one year or both.  The specific types of relief for 
which violation is a misdemeanor include an order that the respondent: 
 

• refrain from further abuse or threats of abuse of a person eligible for relief; 
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• refrain from contacting, attempting to contact, or harassing a person eligible for 
relief; 

• refrain from entering the residence of a person eligible for relief; 

• vacate the home where the respondent and person eligible for relief reside 
together; and 

• remain away from the place of employment, school, or temporary residence of a 
person eligible for relief or home of other family members. 

 
Background:  Temporary ex parte orders and final protective orders represent two stages 
of the same process.  A person who seeks protection may file a petition with the court for 
relief.  An ex parte hearing takes place and if there are reasonable grounds to believe 
abuse has occurred, a temporary ex parte order is issued.  Within seven days, a protective 
order hearing takes place and the respondent has a chance to answer the charges.  If there 
is clear and convincing evidence of abuse, a final protective order is granted.  The 
maximum period for duration of a final protective order is one year.  According to the 
Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC), most final protective orders are issued for a 
period of one year.      
 
For fiscal 2000 (the most recent data available from the AOC), the following table shows 
the judicial activity with regard to petitions for protection: 
 

Jurisdiction 
 

Ex Parte 
Hearings 

 

Ex Parte 
Orders 

Granted 
 

Protective 
Order Hearings 

 

Protective 
Orders 

Granted 
 

District Court 18,310  14,402  13,710  7,139  
Circuit Court 2,992  2,304  2,134  1,151  
Total Actions  21,302  16,706  15,844  8,290  

 
The Institute for Law and Justice and the National Institute of Justice completed a 50 
state survey of domestic violence legislation in October 2000 and found that 43 states and 
the District of Columbia make violation of a court order against domestic violence a 
separate offense.  In 38 states, violation of a protective order is a misdemeanor.  In 
Missouri and Vermont, a second violation of a protective order is a felony.  In Montana, 
Rhode Island, Texas, and Washington, a third violation of a protective order constitutes a 
felony. 
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provisions from cases heard in District Court.  The AOC advises that 
this bill would not affect the manner of hearing or handling the cases by the Judiciary.       



 

HB 126 / Page 4 

 
State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of 
the bill’s incarceration penalties due to more people being committed to Division of 
Correction (DOC) facilities, people being committed to DOC facilities for longer periods 
of time, and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of inmate costs. 
 
Persons serving a sentence longer than one year are incarcerated in DOC facilities.  
Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,800 
per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, 
personnel or facilities.  The average variable cost of housing a new DOC inmate (food, 
medical care, etc.), excluding overhead, is $300 per month. 
 
Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City 
are sentenced to local detention facilities.  The State reimburses counties for part of their 
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days.  State per diem 
reimbursements for fiscal 2003 are estimated to range from $10 to $61 per inmate 
depending upon jurisdiction.  Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are 
generally incarcerated in DOC facilities.  The Baltimore City Detention Center, a State 
operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions.       
 
Local Revenues:  Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary 
penalty provisions from cases heard in the circuit courts.      
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
incarceration penalties.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their 
facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  
Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $20 to 
$84 per inmate in fiscal 2003.      
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  A similar bill was introduced as House Bill 23 in the 2001 session.  
It received an unfavorable report from the Judiciary Committee.    
 
Cross File:   None.    
 
Information Source(s):  State’s Attorneys’ Association, Judiciary (Administrative 
Office of the Courts), Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Institute 
for Law and Justice, National Institute of Justice, National Conference of State 
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Legislatures, Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, Department of Legislative 
Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/cer    

First Reader - February 5, 2002 
 

 
Analysis by:  Karen D. Morgan   Direct Inquiries to: 

John Rixey, Coordinating Analyst 
(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 




