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  Social Workers - Provisional Graduate Social Worker License 
 

  
This bill creates a provisional graduate social worker license.  An eligible applicant must 
have received a master’s degree from a program that had formal “candidacy” status from 
the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) at the time the degree was awarded.  The 
license may be issued for three years or until the program attains accreditation status from 
CSWE, whichever is less.  If a provisional licensee’s degree program becomes accredited 
during the license period, the State Board of Social Work Examiners is required to grant a 
graduate social worker license immediately upon accreditation.   
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal annual increase in special fund revenues through FY 2005.  No 
effect on expenditures. 
 
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  To obtain any license from the board, an applicant must complete a 
written application, be at least 18 years old, and have good moral character.  The 
applicant must have passed the appropriate examination and paid all applicable fees.   
 
In addition, there are other specific requirements to obtain social work licenses: 
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Social work associate - baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by 
CSWE. 
 
Graduate social worker - master’s degree from a program accredited by CSWE. 
 
Certified social worker - master’s degree from a program accredited by CSWE.  The 
person must also provide documentation of 2 years completion with at least 3,000 hours 
of post-graduate supervised experience in social work practice, including a minimum of 
144 hours of face-to-face supervision. 
 
Certified social-worker-clinical - master’s degree in social work and documentation of 
clinical course work from a program accredited by CSWE.  The person must also provide 
documentation of 2 years completion with at least 3,000 hours of post-graduate 
supervised experience in assessment, formulation of a diagnostic impression, and the 
treatment of mental disorders and other appropriate conditions.  The 3,000 hours of 
supervised experience must include at least 144 hours of face-to-face supervision.           
 
Under certain circumstances, the board may waive the supervision requirement. 
 
Background:  Currently, CSWE accredits only one social work education program in 
Maryland.  That program is at the University of Maryland-Baltimore.  The master’s 
degree graduates from that program qualify for a graduate social worker license after 
passing the required board examination. 
 
Salisbury University has developed a graduate degree program in social work and applied 
for accreditation from CSWE.  The program has received “candidacy” status.  The 
university has done the preliminary work, including setting up the administrative support 
necessary to have an accredited graduate social work degree program.  If the 
administrative and financial support continues, the program is likely to be accredited in 
two to three years.  Currently, 20 to 25 master’s candidates are expected to graduate from 
the Salisbury University graduate social work program annually.        
 
State Fiscal Effect:  The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) advises 
that no additional revenue is anticipated under this bill because the students would have 
gone to the University of Maryland-Baltimore or an out-of-state school if not for the 
strong possibility of accreditation for the Salisbury University program.  The Department 
of Legislative Services (DLS) advises the graduates could include some new people who 
would not necessarily have gone to the University of Maryland-Baltimore or another 
school. 
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In any event, the impact on new special fund revenues would be minimal.  By way of 
illustration, the board plans to charge a $150 licensing fee for provisional graduate social 
worker licenses and Salisbury University advises that 20 to 25 new graduates are 
anticipated annually from the master’s in social work program.  If 25 people graduated in 
fiscal 2003, and every year thereafter, the maximum revenue increase would be $3,750 
from the provisional graduate social worker license for the next three fiscal years.  
Salisbury University graduates would pay the provisional licensing fee upon graduation.  
The license would remain in effect for three years, or until the Salisbury University 
program attains accreditation, whichever occurs first.  Once the program attains 
accreditation, the graduates would be eligible for a graduate social worker license.  The 
board does not plan to charge any additional fees for conversion of provisional graduate 
social worker licenses to graduate social worker licenses.   
 
The bill could be implemented with existing resources. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   None.    
 
Cross File:   None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of 
Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr    

First Reader - March 19, 2002 
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