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  Vehicle Laws - License Restriction for a Minor - Prohibition Against Minors as 
Passengers 

 

  
This bill prohibits a licensed driver under the age of 18 from driving with a passenger 
under the age of 18 (except specified relatives) for 180 days after the driver’s license is 
issued.  A police officer may only enforce this provision as a secondary violation (i.e., it 
cannot be the primary cause for stopping a motorist).  The bill provides that a violation of 
the restriction is a moving violation for which an individual may be assessed one point 
upon conviction. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would increase by $86,900 
in FY 2003 for supplies and contractual personnel.  Out-year expenditures reflect 
annualization and inflation.   Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to 
the penalty provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law 
(maximum $500 fine).   
  

(in dollars) FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 
GF Revenue - - - - - 
SF Expenditure 86,900 117,000 118,200 119,400 120,600 
Net Effect ($86,900) ($117,000) ($118,200) ($119,400) ($120,600) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  None.  Enforcement could be handled with existing resources. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There are no restrictions on the number of passengers in a vehicle except 
in cases where the passengers obstruct the view of the driver or interfere with the control 
of the driver over the vehicle.   
  
The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may not issue a driver’s license to any 
individual who has not reached the age of 17 years, 7 months; exemptions are allowed for 
drivers of Class B (for hire), Class C (commercial), or M (multipurpose) vehicles.  An 
applicant is entitled to receive a provisional license if the applicant meets the minimum 
age required (16 years and 1 month) and satisfies the learner’s instructional permit 
requirements.  The applicant must also pass a driver skills or driver road examination, 
surrender any learner’s permit, and pay the fee.   
 
Under the graduated licensing system, a provisional licensee may not drive unsupervised 
between 12 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied and supervised by a licensed 
driver who is at least 21 years old or is driving to or from:  (1) employment; (2) a school 
class or official school activity; (3) an organized volunteer activity; or (4) an athletic 
event or related training session. 
 
Background:   Chapter 483 of 1998 (HB 527) established the provisional drivers’ 
licensing system.  The program became effective July 1, 1999.  According to the National 
Traffic Safety Administration (NTSA), 15 states impose some kind of passenger 
restriction.  Restrictions vary from allowing no passengers without the supervision of a 
21-year-old driver for the first 90 days that the license is issued (Indiana) to allowing no 
more than 3 passengers younger than 19 (West Virginia).  The NTSA rates Maryland’s 
licensing system for young drivers as acceptable.  
 
State Revenues:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty 
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 
fine).  Because the violation can only be enforced as a secondary violation and the 
number of drivers under 18 is a small percentage of the driving population, any such 
increase is assumed to be minimal.   
 
State Expenditures:  TTF expenditures would increase by $86,906 in fiscal 2003 to pay 
for supplies ($60,656) and contractual assistance ($26,250) to process license restriction 
removals for eligible drivers. Annual contractual costs would be $35,000 and annual 
supply costs would be $80,874.   
 
The MVA advises that there are currently 57,775 licensed minors.  It anticipates that 
most of the eligible licensees would request that the restriction be removed.  The MVA 



 

SB 527 / Page 4 

estimates that it needs five full-time positions, including a supervisor and four customer 
agents, to process the restriction removal, at a cost of $158,021 in fiscal 2003.   Further, it 
advises that it would cost $78,540 to modify the computer system and $30,4000 to update 
the Maryland Driver’s Handbook.  It did not address the cost of supplies associated with 
a new license, but the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises that based on 
previous estimates, it would cost $1.45 per license. 
 
DLS concurs that most licensees will request a new license after the restriction is no 
longer effective and that additional customer assistance will likely be necessary.  
However, it disagrees that the MVA will require five full-time positions or funding for 
the driver’s handbook, which will require updating regardless of any legislation that may 
be enacted, and could be handled with existing resources. DLS observes that for an 
identical bill introduced in 2000 and 2001, the MVA requested approximately $35,000 to 
$38,000 for overtime contractual costs to handle the additional workload imposed by the 
bill.  Its 1999 estimate called for $71,300 in contractual costs.  
 
This would reduce the costs associated with this bill and other legislation affecting the 
MVA system.  DLS advises that the level of assistance will vary at each branch.  The use 
of on-call reserve assistance will allow the MVA flexibility to respond to the needs of 
each branch. It further advises that if other legislation is passed requiring computer 
reprogramming and driver handbook changes, economies of scale could be realized.   
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   An identical bill was introduced as SB 128 in the 2001 session, 
SB 404 in the 2000 session, and SB 597 in the 1999 session. All were given an 
unfavorable report by the Judicial Proceedings Committee.    
 
Cross File:   None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration), 
Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/cer    

First Reader - February 19, 2002 
 

 
Analysis by:    Ann Marie Maloney   Direct Inquiries to: 

John Rixey, Coordinating Analyst 
(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 
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