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  Vehicle Laws - Suspension of Driver's License - Theft of Motor Fuel 
 

 
This bill provides that a person who is convicted of a theft that involves a failure to pay 
for motor fuel after dispensing it into a vehicle is subject to a driver’s license suspension.  
For a first conviction, the MVA may suspend a person’s driver’s license for up to 30 
days; for a second or subsequent conviction, a 30-day suspension is mandatory.  The bill 
allows a licensee to request a hearing if his or her license is suspended for fuel theft.  The 
Chief Judge of the District Court and the Administrative Office of the Courts, in 
conjunction with the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), must establish uniform 
procedures for reporting these convictions. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  General fund expenditures would increase by $3,800 in FY 2003 only for 
programming changes to the District Court computer system. Transportation Trust Fund 
(TTF) expenditures could increase minimally as a result of increased driver’s license 
suspensions.  Revenues would not be affected. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
GF Expenditure 3,800 0 0 0 0 
SF Expenditure - - - - - 
Net Effect ($3,800) $0 $0 $0 $0 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal. To the extent that the bill assists with enforcement or 
deterrence of fuel theft at gas stations or convenience stores that are small businesses, it 
will benefit small business. 
 
  



HB 398 / Page 3 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A person is guilty of theft when he or she willfully or knowingly obtains 
unauthorized control over property with the intent of depriving the owner of the property.  
A person also commits theft by willfully or knowingly using deception to obtain control 
over property of the owner with the intent of depriving the owner of its use. A person 
convicted of theft of property or services valued at less than $500 must make restitution 
and is subject to a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment of not more than 18 
months, or both. 
 
The MVA does not impose any penalties for the crime referenced in the bill.  If a person 
is entitled to a hearing for a license suspension or revocation, the MVA must give written 
notice to the individual, who may request a hearing within 15 days from the date that the 
notice is mailed.  The hearing must be held within 30 days of the request.  After a 
hearing, the MVA may refuse, suspend, or revoke the individual’s license, rescind or 
modify any prior action, or take any other action as permitted under Maryland Vehicle 
Law. 
 
Background:  The offense referenced in the bill, commonly called a “drive-off,” has 
become more common throughout the country (particularly in metropolitan areas), 
especially as fuel prices have increased.  According to the National Association of 
Convenience Stores 2000 annual report, drive-offs cost individual stores approximately 
$2,600 a year; however, the cost rises or lowers depending on the current price of 
gasoline.  Most states, including Maryland, prosecute this crime as a misdemeanor with 
fines ranging from $100 to $2,500 and jail terms ranging from 30 days to one year, but 
there are seldom any prosecutions or convictions. 
 
A few states, including Indiana, Florida, and Kansas, allow suspension of a driver’s 
license for repeat offenders. 
 
State Expenditures:  The District Court advises that the bill would require $3,750 of 
computer programming changes in fiscal 2003 only.  The MVA advises that the bill may 
minimally increase administrative costs if driver’s license suspensions increase, but the 
costs cannot be determined at this time because the increased number of suspensions 
cannot be reliably estimated.  Each administrative hearing costs the MVA approximately 
$92.  Given the limited number of convictions for this violation, the Department of 
Legislative Services advises that the entitlement to a hearing, as provided under the bill, 
will have minimal impact. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  A similar bill was introduced during the 2001 session as HB 1136 
and was given an unfavorable report by the Judiciary Committee . 
 
Cross File:  SB 351 (Senator Jimeno, et al.) – Judicial Proceedings. 
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration), 
Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
mld/cer    

First Reader - February 18, 2002 
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