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This bill prohibits the State Superintendent of Schools from issuing a teacher certificate 
to an individual who has not completed training in the Heimlich maneuver (HM) and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  Training for HM and CPR must be provided by an 
individual who has been approved by the Maryland State Department of Education.  
Individuals seeking teacher certification must provide the State Superintendent with 
documentation indicating that training has been completed.  Local boards of education 
must reimburse teachers they employ for the cost of the training.  A teacher who, in the 
course of employment, acts in good faith and without gross negligence to perform HM or 
CPR is immune from liability. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The Maryland State Department of Education could maintain records of 
teachers certified in HM and CPR with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect: Local school expenditures would increase by an estimated $1.2 million in 
FY 2003 to reimburse teachers for HM and CPR training.  Future year expenditures 
would reflect a relatively stable number of teachers being reimbursed.  This bill imposes 
a mandate on a unit of local government. 
  
Small Business Effect: None. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Teachers are not required to be trained in HM and CPR.  Local boards of 
education are required to carry comprehensive liability insurance to protect the board and 
its employees. 
 
Local Expenditures:  Local school systems estimate that approximately 8,700 new 
teachers will be employed for the 2002-2003 school year, and the Maryland State 
Department of Education estimates that 15,000 teachers renew their certificates annually.  
This results in 23,700 teachers who would be required to receive HM and CPR training in 
order to be issued teaching certificates in fiscal 2003.  HM and CPR training courses 
range from approximately $15 at local fire departments to $85 at community colleges.  
Assuming an average cost of $50 per teacher, local school expenditures would increase 
by $1.2 million in fiscal 2003.  Teachers are generally required to renew certification 
about every five years depending on the type of certificate held.  Therefore, almost all 
teachers would be trained in HM and CPR by the 2007-2008 school year.  If teachers 
must be retrained in HM and CPR at roughly the same interval that they must renew 
teacher certification, the costs would be relatively stable in future years.  
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   None.    
 
Cross File:   None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland State Department of Education, Department of 
Legislative Services         
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