## 2003 Regular Session

BY: Environmental Matters Committee

## AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL NO. 1177

(First Reading File Bill)

## AMENDMENT NO. 1

In line 2, after "District" insert "<u>- Governing Body</u>"; strike beginning with "enabling" in line 3 down through "commission" in line 5 and substitute "<u>abolishing the sanitary commission of Garrett County</u>; requiring the County Commissioners of Garrett County to govern the sanitary <u>district in Garrett County</u>"; in line 6, after "the" insert "governing body of the"; in the same line, strike "of" and substitute "<u>in</u>"; and in line 9, after "Section" insert "<u>9-621</u>, <u>9-622(a)(1)</u> and (c)(1), and".

## AMENDMENT NO. 2

After line 14, insert:

"9-621.

[The] EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN § 9-629 OF THIS SUBTITLE, THE sanitary commission is the body that governs a district.

9-622.

- (a) (1) The sanitary commission of each single county district consists of the following numbers of sanitary commissioners, each appointed by the governing body of the member county:
  - (i) Allegany County 7;
  - (ii) Dorchester County 5;
  - (iii) [Garrett County 5;

- (iv)] Kent County 5;
- [(v)] (IV) Somerset County, except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection 5;
  - [(vi)] (V) Worcester County 5; and
  - [(vii)] (VI) Other counties 3.
  - (c) The term of a sanitary commissioner in a single county district is as follows:
- (i) <u>In Dorchester County and Kent County, 6 years expiring on July 1 of</u> the appropriate year.
- (ii) In Allegany County, 6 years expiring on June 1 of the appropriate year.
- (iii) In [Garrett and] Somerset [counties] COUNTY, 6 years expiring, as required by the terms of the sanitary commissioners on July 1, 1982, on June 1 or January 1 of the appropriate year.
- (iv) <u>In any other county, 6 years expiring on January 1 of the appropriate year.</u>";

strike in their entirety lines 16 and 17; in line 18, strike "(B)" and substitute "(A)"; in the same line, strike "AND GARRETT COUNTY"; in line 19, strike "IN EACH COUNTY"; and after line 20, insert:

"(B) THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF GARRETT COUNTY SHALL GOVERN THE DISTRICT IN GARRETT COUNTY.".