Unofficial Copy P1 HJ 38/02 - CGM

## By: Delegates C. Davis, Bartlett, G. Clagett, Edwards, Elliott, Hogan, Kelly, McKee, Myers, Shank, Stull, and Weldon

Introduced and read first time: January 27, 2003 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

2

## **Coal Miners - Commemorative Stamp**

FOR the purpose of urging the United States Postal Service to issue a postal stamp
 honoring coal miners.

5 WHEREAS, The United States of America owes coal miners a great deal more 6 than could ever be repaid for the difficult and dangerous job they have performed to 7 provide the fuel needed to operate the nation's industries and provide energy to 8 consumers; and

9 WHEREAS, It would be fitting for the nation to recognize and pay tribute to the 10 coal miners, both past and present, who have toiled so hard and who have made such 11 major contributions to the energy needs of the nation and its citizens; now, therefore, 12 be it

13 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 14 General Assembly urges the United States Postal Service to honor and pay tribute to 15 the past and present coal miners of this nation by issuing a commemorative postal 16 stamp in their honor; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
Legislative Services to the United States Postmaster General, John E. Potter, 475
L'Enfant Plaza SW, Washington, D.C. 20260-0010 and to the Maryland Congressional
Delegation: Senators Paul S. Sarbanes and Barbara A. Mikulski, Senate Office
Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Wayne T. Gilchrest, C. A.
Dutch Ruppersberger III, Benjamin L. Cardin, Albert R. Wynn, Steny Hamilton
Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr.,
House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
Legislative Services to the Honorable Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr., Governor of Maryland;
the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.