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Family Law - Marriage Ceremonies - Orphans Court Judges

This bill authorizes a sitting or retired judge of the orphan’s court to perform marriage
ceremonies.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: Thisbill would not directly affect State operations or finances.

Local Effect: This bill would not directly affect local government operations or
finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: For the purpose of performing marriage ceremonies, ajudge is defined as
a sitting or retired judge of: (1) the District Court; (2) a circuit court; (3) the Court of
Special Appeals; (4) the Court of Appeals; (5) the U.S. District Court for the District of
Maryland; or (6) the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. The definition also
includes a sitting or retired judge of another state or federal court that has substantially
equivalent jurisdiction.

A marriage ceremony in Maryland may be performed by: any official of areligious order
or body authorized by that order to perform a marriage ceremony, any clerk, any deputy
clerk designated by a county administrative judge, or ajudge. Only an authorized person



may perform a marriage ceremony. An unauthorized person who performs a marriage
ceremony is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to afine of $500.

A clerk or deputy clerk may not receive any fee, remuneration, or gift for performing a
marriage ceremony other than the fee specified in statute. Except for Cecil County, the
clerk’s or deputy clerk’s fee for performing a marriage ceremony is $25. Ten dollars of
this fee goes to the county general fund. The clerk retains the remainder. In some
counties, a portion of the remaining fee is paid to a historical society.

In Cecil County, the clerk’s or deputy clerk’s fee for performing a marriage ceremony is
$30. Of the funds remaining after payment to the general fund, the Cecil County clerk
must pay $5 of each fee to the Cecil Historical Trust, Inc., and $5 of each fee to the
Historical Society of Cecil County.

Background: Judges became authorized to perform marriage ceremonies pursuant to
Chapter 207 of 2002 (HB 106). The Judiciary reports that since the authorization, about
30 marriages have been performed statewide by judges. Chapter 207 does not
specifically authorize judges to charge the customary fee of $25 (or $30 in Cecil County)
to perform marriage ceremonies.

Additional | nfor mation
Prior Introductions. None.

Cross Filee None. However, HB 58, which passed the House, transfers the
responsibility to define “judge” to the Court of Appeals.

I nfor mation Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
Legislative Services
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