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Environmental Matters

Motor Vehicles- L ow Speed Vehicles - Standar ds and Restrictions

This bill clarifies the Motor Vehicle Administration’s (MVA) authority to register and
issue certificates of title for low-speed vehicles. A low-speed vehicle is defined as afour-
wheeled electric vehicle that can be driven between 20 and 25 miles per hour. The bill
prohibits a person from driving a low-speed vehicle on a roadway with a posted speed
limit that exceeds 35 miles per hour or on an expressway or another controlled access
highway.

The State Highway Administration (SHA) and the Department of State Police must adopt
regulations establishing equipment standards for low-speed vehicles. SHA may aso
adopt regulations to require equipment beyond what is required under federal law.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Net Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues could increase by as much
as $413,225 in FY 2004. Revenues and expenditures would vary in the out-years due to
the vehicle growth rate and registration fee schedule. Potential minimal increase in
general fund revenues due to the penalty provisions applicable under the Maryland
Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine).

Local Effect: Potential increase in local government revenue in FY 2004 and each year
thereafter.

Small Business Effect: None.




Analysis

Current Law: State law defines a vehicle as any device in, on, or by which any
individual or property is or might be transported or towed on a highway. With certain
exceptions, the owner of any device classified as a vehicle must obtain a certificate of
title for the vehicle. Electronic personal mobility devices, such as Segways, are not
considered vehicles. If a vehicle is also defined as a motor vehicle, which means it is
self-propelled or propelled by electric power obtained from overhead electrical wires and
does not operate on rails, then the vehicle must be registered, with certain exceptions.
Registered vehicles are subject to a biennial fee that varies according to vehicle class and
an $11 surcharge collected for the Maryland Institute of Emergency Medical Services
Systems (MIEMSS) and other related emergency uses unless exempted. Registration fee
revenue is deposited into the Gasoline and Motor Vehicle Revenue Account — 70% is for
the TTF and local jurisdictions receive the remainder (30%).

Motor vehicles must be inspected and tested every two years under the State Vehicle
Emissions Inspections Program (VEIP) for a biennia fee of $14, unless a waiver is
granted. Vehicles and motor vehicles are also subject to the requirements of the
Maryland Vehicle Law. In general, persons convicted of a misdemeanor for violating
any provision of the Maryland Vehicle Law are subject to a fine of not more than $500.

Federal regulations require low-speed vehicles to be equipped with the following: (1)
headlamps; (2) front and rear turn signal lamps; (3) tail lamps; (4) stop lamps; (5) onered
reflector on each side as far to the rear as practicable, and one on the rear; (6) an exterior
mirror mounted on the driver’s side of the vehicle and either an exterior mirror on the
passenger’s side of the vehicle or an interior mirror; (7) a parking brake; and (8) a
windshield that meets certain industry standards.

State Fiscal Effect: The Maryland State Police estimates that 10,000 to 20,000 vehicles
would be subject to titling and registration requirements under the bill. The Department
of Legidative Services (DLS) advises that the wide range of potentially affected vehicles
makes it impossible to quantify the exact amount of revenues or expenditures for this bill.
Assuming 15,000 vehicles need to be titled and registered at a cost of $60 per vehicle, net
TTF revenues would increase by $413,225 in fiscal 2004, accounting for the October 1,
2003 effective date and related TTF expenditures, as discussed below.

Total TTF revenues would increase by $550,125. The titling fee is $23 per vehicle and
the biennia registration charge set by the MVA would likely be $37. (The MV A advises
that it does not expect low-speed vehicles to be subject to the $11 surcharge for the
Maryland Emergency Medical Systems Fund.) Annua revenues would vary according to
the registration payment schedule. The MV A estimates that an additional 450 vehicles
will require titling and registration annualy.
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General fund revenues could increase to the extent that low-speed vehicles are subject to
monetary penalties under Maryland Vehicle Law.

The MV A advises that one full-time and one part-time employee is needed for every
10,000 vehicles registered if the registration also includes titling, which is a more
complex process. Since the demand may vary by branch, DLS advises that on-call
contractual assistance would be more feasible. If 15,000 vehicles must be registered and
titled, fisca 2004 expenditures would be approximately $136,900 to account for one
contractual employee at the MVA’s call center, on-call contractual services to assist
customers, supplies (including plates), and mailing costs. Annua expenditures would
vary.

The MV A advises that computer programming costs would be approximately $140,000,
in addition to document scanning and data storage costs. DLS advises that if other
legislation is passed that affects the registration system, economies of scale could be
realized. This would reduce the costs associated with this bill and other legidlation
affecting the MV A system.

Local Effect: Local governments would receive up to $124,875 in fiscal 2004 and
$83,250 annually under this bill if 15,000 vehicles register with the State.

Additional | nfor mation
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFile: None, athough SB 521 isidentical.

Information Source(s): Department of State Police, Department of Transportation,
Department of Legidlative Services
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