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Sentencing - Revisory Power of Courts - Limitations

This bill authorizes a criminal defendant to file a motion to revise, modify, or reduce a
sentence within 90 days after the sentence isimposed. The bill limits a court’s revisory
power to a period of 15 months after the filing of such a motion. The bill requires that a
court’s decision to change an original sentence be in writing and state the reasons for the
decision. In addition, the bill allows such a motion to be filed a any time in a case
involving an illegal sentence, fraud, mistake, or an irregularity. Lastly, the bill requires
that the court notify all victims of the crime(s) prior to revising, modifying, or reducing
the sentence.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: This bill is not expected to have a significant impact on the finances of the
Judiciary, the Division of Correction, or the Office of the Public Defender.

Local Effect: Thishill is not expected to have a significant impact on the finances of the
circuit courts or State’ s Attorneys' offices.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Under Rule 4-345 of the Maryland Rules, a court has revisory power and
control over a sentence upon a motion filed within 90 days after its imposition: (1) in the
District Court, if an appeal has not been perfected; and (2) in a circuit court, whether or
not an appeal has been filed. Thereafter, the court has revisory power and control over



the sentence only in case of fraud, mistake, or irregularity, or as otherwise provided in the
Maryland Rules in cases concerning desertion and nonsupport of spouse, children, or
destitute parents. There is no time limit restricting when the court may exercise its
revisory power. The court may not increase a sentence after the sentence has been
iImposed, except that it may correct an evident mistake in the announcement of a sentence
if the correction is made on the record before the defendant leaves the courtroom
following the sentencing proceeding.

Maryland Rule 4-345(c) requires the State’s Attorney to give notice to each victim and
victim’s representative who has filed an official request to be notified that states: (1) that
a motion to modify or reduce a sentence has been filed; (2) that either the motion has
been denied without a hearing or the date, time, and location of the hearing; and (3) if a
hearing is to be held, that the victim or victim's representative may attend and testify.
The court may modify, reduce, correct, or vacate a sentence only after hearing from the
defendant, the State, and from each victim or victim’'s representative who requests an
opportunity to be heard. If the court grants the motion, it must prepare or dictate into the
record a statement of the reasons on which the ruling is based.

Background: Another way in which defendants may obtain a revision of sentenceis to
file amotion under Maryland Rule 4-344 and 8 8-102 of the Criminal Procedure Article.
Under these provisions, with certain exceptions, a defendant who is sentenced to serve a
sentence that exceeds two years in a correctional facility is eligible to file a motion for
review of sentence. The motion must be filed within 30 days of the sentencing. A three-
judge review panel that hears the motion must file awritten decision within 30 days.

Additional | nfor mation

Prior Introductions. HB 160 of 2002 was scheduled for a hearing in the House
Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken. Its companion bill, SB 73 of 2002,
received an unfavorable report from the Judicial Proceedings Committee. A similar bill
was introduced as SB 632 of 2001 and cross filed as HB 62. SB 632 was scheduled for a
hearing in the Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no further action was taken. HB 62
received an unfavorable report from the Judiciary Committee. Another similar bill, SB
671 of 2001, was scheduled for a hearing in the Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no
further action was taken.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): State’'s Attorneys Office, Judiciary (Administrative Office of
the Courts), Public Defender’s Office, Department of Public Safety and Correctional
Services, Department of Legislative Services
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