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Environmental Matters     
 

  Vehicle Laws - Use of Mobile Telephone by Driver Who Is a Minor - Prohibition 
 

 
This bill provides that a driver under the age of 18 may not operate a mobile telephone 
while the motor vehicle is in motion.  A mobile telephone includes both hand-held and 
hands-free mobile telephone devices.  The bill does not apply to drivers under the age of 
18 who use a mobile telephone in a moving car to call 911 or a public safety agency in an 
emergency. 
 
A violation of the bill’s provisions is a misdemeanor and a violator is subject to a fine not 
exceeding $500. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty provision 
applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine). 
Enforcement could be handled with existing resources.  
  
Local Effect:  Enforcement could be handled with existing resources.  
  
Small Business Effect:  None.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There are no restrictions in the Maryland Vehicle Law governing the use 
of hand-held telephones while driving for either those under the age of 18 or those who 
have reached the age of majority.  There are no provisions in the Maryland Vehicle Law 
restricting or prohibiting driving while distracted.  However, a person is deemed guilty of 
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negligent driving if the person drives in a careless or imprudent manner that endangers 
property or human life.  A negligent driving violation requires the assessment of one 
point against the driving record and is a misdemeanor subject to a penalty not exceeding 
$500.  
 
Background:  Although state legislatures, to date, have been reluctant to ban cell phone 
use in motor vehicles, one state has applied such a ban to minors.  In 2001, New Jersey 
enacted legislation that prohibits drivers less than 21 years of age and who only have a 
learner’s permit from using a mobile phone while driving.  The penalty is a $100 fine or a 
90-day permit suspension.  Other states have considered legislation that prohibits minors 
from using a cell phone and other wireless devices while driving.  In 2001, the states of 
Tennessee and Virginia considered, but did not pass, legislation prohibiting minors from 
using cell phones while driving.  In 2002 legislative sessions, Delaware, Illinois, New 
York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Virginia considered, but did not 
pass, similar legislation.  The New York bill would have applied the cell phone 
prohibition to drivers under the age of 21 and Pennsylvania would have limited its 
prohibition to minors with learner’s permits.  South Carolina’s legislation would have 
applied the prohibition to cell phones and other wireless devices. 
 
In 2001, New York became the first state to prohibit any driver from using a hand-held 
cell phone while driving, except in emergencies.  The maximum penalty for illegal cell 
phone use is $100.  New York’s law took effect November 1.  A recent study by the 
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety suggests that passage of the New York law has 
reduced the use of hand-held phones while driving.  One month before New York’s law 
took effect, about 2.3% of all drivers were estimated to use hand-held cell phones.  
Several months after police began issuing citations, hand-held phone usage dropped 
about 50% to about 1.1% of all drivers. 
 
To date, 25 industrialized countries – including Brazil, Chile, Denmark, the Philippines, 
Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Turkey, and the United 
Arab Emirates – now restrict or ban hand-held phone use while driving.  Also, the 
University of Idaho revised its rules and regulations to require students who use 
university vehicles for student activities to certify that they will not use cell phones while 
driving. 
 
The debate surrounding telephone use by drivers has recently focused on driver 
distraction.  Nationwide, the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration 
estimates that 25% to 30% of motor vehicle crashes (about 1.2 million accidents) are 
caused by driver distraction.  According to Maryland State Police accident report data 
from January 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002, “failed to give full attention” was a 
contributing circumstance in 57% of accidents. 
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In 2000, the Harvard Center for Risk Analysis (HCRA) issued a cost-benefit analysis of 
cell phone use while driving.  The study analyzed results from a control group of 700 
drivers who used cell phones.  This was the same control group used for a widely 
disseminated 1997 New England Journal of Medicine study of cell phone use and 
driving.  HCRA reviewed cell phone billing record analyses and in-depth surveys of 
participants to arrive at its conclusion that the benefits of being able to communicate 
while driving clearly outweighed the social costs of injuries and deaths.  That study was 
revised in 2002 and now HCRA concludes that the costs of cell phone use while driving 
have risen to being roughly equal with the social benefits.  HCRA estimates that 
nationally, on an annual basis, the use of cell phones while driving may result in 2,600 
deaths, 330,000 moderate to critical injuries, and 1.5 million cases of property damage.  
Factors in the HCRA reassessment are the larger number of cell phone users (estimated to 
be 137 million) and cheaper costs for phones and talk time. 
 
There are over 2 million cell phone users in Maryland, and studies show that 85% of cell 
phone owners use their phones at least occasionally while driving.  Over 25% of such 
individuals are estimated to use their phones during at least half of their vehicle trips.  In 
October 2000 Maryland began tracking cell phone-related accidents as a separate 
contributing circumstance on accident report forms.  In calendar 2001, the State Highway 
Administration (SHA) recorded cell phones as a contributing factor in 11 out of 101,411 
accidents.  The data collected to date for the first half of calendar 2002 show that cell 
phone use was a contributing factor in 25 out of 72,283 accidents.  It should be noted that 
the SHA data is dependent on reliable information from witnesses and the ability of the 
State Police to actually determine what happened at an accident scene.  The reporting is 
also affected by the reluctance of people to admit culpability in an accident, especially to 
a law enforcement officer.  Other states collecting this type of data grapple with similar 
issues. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  SB 220 (Senator Hooper, et al.) – Judicial Proceedings. 
 
Information Source(s):  National Conference of State Legislatures, Harvard Center for 
Risk Analysis, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration, NewsMax.com, University of Idaho, Department of Legislative Services  
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