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Alcoholic Beverages - Sale of Out-of-State Wine

This bill requires the Comptroller’s Office to create and provide alist of wholesalers who
are willing to participate in the handling of direct wine shipments. The bill requires the
list to be posted on the web site of the Comptroller's Office, to be provided free-of-
charge to any individual who requests information regarding direct wine shipments, and
must include the name, contact person, and phone number for the wholesaler. The hill
also provides that a wholesaler or a retall dealer may impose a service charge for
handling the direct wine shipment.

The bill is effective June 1, 2003.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: Costs to create, post to the Internet, and provide alist of wholesalers who
are willing to participate in the handling of direct wine shipments could be handled with
existing resources. Revenues would not be affected.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: The direct wine permit authorizes an out-of-state winery to ship wineto a
Maryland resident if the wine is first shipped to a licensed Maryland alcoholic beverages
wholesaler and then delivered by the wholesaler to a licensed Maryland alcoholic



beverages retailer. The Comptroller’s Office is not required to post to its web site or
provide free-of-charge a list of wholesalers willing to participate in direct wine
shipments. A personal consumer must pay a service charge of $2 per bottle but not more
than $4 per shipment to a wholesaler. A consumer must pay a service charge of $5 per
bottle but not more than $10 per shipment to a retail dealer when the consumer takes
delivery.

Background: The direct wine seller’s permit was created by Chapter 251 of 2002 and
became effective July 1, 2002. The Comptroller may issue a direct wine seller’s permit
to a person or entity that: (1) is domiciled outside of Maryland; (2) is engaged in the
manufacture of wine or is the brand owner, United States importer, or designated
Maryland agent for wine sold under this subtitle; (3) holds an alcoholic beverages license
in the state where the applicant is domiciled or by the Federa Bureau of Alcohoal,
Tobacco, and Firearms; and (4) within two years before the application does not hold any
Maryland alcoholic beverages license or permit, or is not owned in whole or in part by
any other Maryland alcoholic beverages licensee or permit holder. The permit authorizes
an out-of -state winery to ship wine to a Maryland resident if the wine isfirst shipped to a
licensed Maryland alcoholic beverages wholesaler and then delivered by the wholesaler
to a licensed Maryland alcoholic beverages retailer. The wholesaler is required to keep
records of shipping invoices.

A permit holder may not sell in Maryland more than 900 liters of wine annually or more
than 108 liters of wine to a single personal consumer annually. The annua fee for a
direct wine seller’s permit is $10. The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Division of the
Comptroller’s Office advises that there have been no direct wine seller’ s permits issued.

Small Business Effect: To the extent that the availability of alist of wholesalers willing
to participate in the handling of direct wine shipment sales generates the issuance of
direct wine seller’s permits, small retail alcoholic beverage licensees in Maryland may be
impacted if Maryland citizens purchase out-of-state wines from direct wine seller’s
permit holders. Any impact is assumed to be minimal.

Additional | nfor mation
Prior Introductions: None.
CrossFile: HB 621 (Delegate MclIntosh) — Economic Matters.

I nfor mation Source(s): Comptroller’s Office, Department of Legisative Services
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