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This bill exempts firefighters and other emergency services personnel from obtaining a 
Maryland noncommercial Class A or B driver’s license or learner’s permit under 
specified circumstances.  A member or employee of a fire department, rescue squad, 
emergency medical services unit, or volunteer fire company is exempt while driving an 
emergency vehicle if:  (1) the driver holds a valid commercial Class C license; (2) has 
been authorized by the political subdivision to operate the type of emergency vehicle 
being driven; and (3) is driving the emergency vehicle while performing official duties in 
or out of Maryland.  The bill also requires the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), in 
consultation with specified firefighter’s associations, to adopt regulations that establish 
training and testing requirements that political subdivisions must implement before 
exempting emergency services personnel from licensing requirements. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues would decrease by $24,800 in 
FY 2004.  The revenue loss in future years reflects no anticipated change in the exam fee 
or in the number of emergency personnel qualifying for the license exam exemption. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 
SF Revenue ($24,800) ($24,800) ($24,800) ($24,800) ($24,800) 
Expenditure $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Net Effect ($24,800) ($24,800) ($24,800) ($24,800) ($24,800) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  The bill’s requirements could be met with existing resources. 
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Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A noncommercial Class A driver’s license authorizes the licensee to 
drive combinations of tractor (Class F) and trailer (Class G) vehicles and any vehicle 
authorized by a Class B driver’s license except commercial motor vehicles and 
motorcycles.  A noncommercial Class B driver’s license authorizes the licensee to drive 
any single vehicle or combinations of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight or gross 
combination weight of 26,001 pounds or more.  A noncommercial Class B license holder 
is authorized to drive any vehicle authorized by a noncommercial Class C license except 
commercial motor vehicles, motorcycles, and combinations of tractor (Class F) and 
trailer (Class G) vehicles.  A commercial Class C license authorizes the licensee to drive 
buses, specified commercial vehicles up to 25,000 pounds, and passenger vehicles up to 
26,000 pounds, excluding motorcycles.  A noncommercial Class C license is held by 
most drivers of passenger vehicles.  It authorizes the licensee to drive any vehicle or 
vehicle combination up to 26,000 pounds except commercial motor vehicles and 
motorcycles. 
 
A holder of a noncommercial Class A or B license may not drive or attempt to drive a 
motor vehicle on any highway in the State unless the license authorizes the individual to 
drive the class of vehicle that the individual is driving or attempting to drive.  A person 
who attempts to drive vehicles not authorized by a noncommercial Class A or B license is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to a penalty not to exceed $500.  Two points must 
also be assessed against the driving record. 
 
An individual may not drive or attempt to drive a motor vehicle on any highway in 
Maryland unless the individual holds a Maryland driver’s license, the individual is 
expressly exempt from licensing requirements, or the individual is specifically authorized 
to drive vehicles of the class that the individual was driving or attempting to drive.  The 
requirement to hold a Maryland driver’s license does not apply to the following 
individuals as long as the individuals meet other conditions specified in the law: 
 

• an officer or employee of the United States on official business, who is driving a 
noncommercial motor vehicle owned or operated by the United States; 

• except for members elected from this State, a member of the U.S. Congress who 
resides in Maryland during a term of office; 
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• an individual who is temporarily driving a road machine, farm tractor, or farm 
equipment on a State highway, or an individual driving dock equipment, which 
does not require registration, at Dundalk or Locust Point marine terminals; 

• a nonresident student enrolled in an accredited school, college, or university of 
Maryland or a bordering state, or an individual serving a medical internship in 
Maryland, under certain circumstances; 

• a new resident of Maryland during the first 60 days of residency under certain 
circumstances; 

• a member of the U.S. armed forces or the U.S. Public Health Service who is on 
active duty and any dependent of the member under certain circumstances; 

• for not more than 30 days after returning to the United States, a member of the 
U.S. armed forces who is returning from active duty outside the United States and 
any dependent, under certain circumstances; 

• a nonresident of this State, under specified circumstances; 

• a nonresident of the United States, under specified circumstances; and 

• a member of the National Guard, under specified circumstances. 
 

An individual who drives while not licensed in Maryland is guilty of a misdemeanor and 
is subject to a fine not exceeding $500 and an assessment of five points against the 
driving record.  A person who receives an exemption from a driver’s license requirement 
but does not comply with other specified conditions to retain the exemption is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and is subject to a fine not exceeding $500 and an assessment of one point 
against the driving record. 
 
Background:  Firefighters and other emergency services personnel who drive motorized, 
heavy-duty equipment are currently required to hold a noncommercial Class A or B 
driver’s license or learner’s permit.  To obtain a Class A or B license from the MVA, the 
applicant submits to a pre-trip inspection of the vehicle, a maneuvering test, and a public 
road driving test.  The MVA advises, however, that in the process of preparing 
emergency services personnel for their duties, local governments impose very rigorous 
training and certification requirements, including the driving of heavy-duty motorized 
equipment.  The certification process is substantially more rigorous than the 
noncommercial Class A or B driver’s test currently required by the MVA. 
 
State Revenues:  Transportation Trust Fund revenues could decrease by $24,750 in 
fiscal 2004 and future years.  According to the Maryland Firemen’s Association, there are 
approximately 20,000 firefighters, emergency medical technicians, and emergency 
medical services personnel statewide.  Of the total personnel, about 10,000 to 12,000 
drive vehicles related to providing emergency services and currently need a Class A or B 
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license.  The MVA charges $45 for a noncommercial Class A or B license exam.  The 
$45 license exam fee is charged one time.  The emergency personnel would still pay for a 
noncommercial Class C driver’s license, which costs $30 and must be renewed every five 
years. 
 
This fiscal estimate assumes that 11,000 personnel drive these heavy-duty vehicles and 
that due to staff turnover, about 5%, or 550 personnel annually, would be exempt from 
paying the $45 MVA license exam fee. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, Caroline 
County, Calvert County, Howard County, Department of Transportation, Baltimore City, 
Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
mld/cer    

First Reader - January 31, 2003 
Revised - House Third Reader - March 18, 2003 
Revised - Enrolled Bill - April 24, 2003 
 

 
Analysis by:  Karen D. Morgan  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 




