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Environmental Matters     
 

Vehicle Laws - License Restrictions for a Minor - Restrictions Against Minors as 
Passengers 

 

 
This bill prohibits a licensed driver under the age of 18 from driving with a passenger 
under the age of 18 for six months after the driver’s license is issued.  From six months 
after the driver’s license is issued until the driver turns 18, the driver is prohibited from 
driving with more than one passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle.  This prohibition 
does not apply if the driver is accompanied by and under the immediate supervision of an 
individual who is at least 21, has been a licensed driver for at least three years, and is 
seated beside the driver in the front passenger seat.  The bill provides that a violation of 
the restriction is a moving violation for which an individual may be assessed one point 
upon conviction. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty 
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 
fine).  Transportation Trust Fund expenditures would not be affected. 
  
Local Effect:  None.  Enforcement could be handled with existing resources. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There are no restrictions on the number of passengers in a vehicle except 
in cases where the passengers obstruct the view of the driver or interfere with the control 
of the driver over the vehicle. 
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The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may not issue a license to any individual who 
has not reached the age of 17 years, 7 months; exemptions are allowed for the issuance of 
noncommercial Class B, Class C, or Class M licenses.  An applicant is entitled to receive 
a provisional license if the applicant meets the minimum age required (16 years and 1 
month) and has held a learner’s instructional permit for four months after original issue or 
after commission of a traffic violation.  The applicant must also pass a driver skills or 
driver road examination, surrender any learner’s permit, and pay the fee. 
 
Under the graduated licensing system, a provisional licensee may not drive unsupervised 
between 12 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied and supervised by a licensed 
driver who is at least 21 years old or is driving to or from:  (1) employment; (2) a school 
class or official school activity; (3) an organized volunteer activity; or (4) an athletic 
event or related training session. 
 
Background:  Chapter 483 of 1998 established the provisional drivers’ licensing system.  
The program became effective July 1, 1999.  According to the Insurance Institute for 
Highway Safety (IIHS), 22 states and the District of Columbia impose some kind of 
passenger restriction on licensed minors.  Restrictions vary from allowing no passengers 
without the supervision of a 21-year old driver for the first 90 days that the license is 
issued (Indiana) to allowing no more than three passengers younger than 19 (West 
Virginia).  IIHS evaluates state licensing systems for younger drivers and provides 
assessments of good, acceptable, fair, marginal, or poor.  IIHS rates Maryland’s licensing 
system for young drivers as acceptable. 
 
State Revenues:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty 
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 
fine). 
 
State Expenditures:  The MVA advises that as of the end of fiscal 2002, there are 
59,320 licensed minors.  Further, it advises that it would cost $31,500 to update the 
Maryland Driver’s Handbook and related documents.  It did not address the cost of 
supplies associated with a new license, but the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) 
advises that based on previous estimates, it would cost $1.45 per license. 
 
DLS disagrees that the MVA will require funding for the driver’s handbook and other 
brochures, which would require updating regardless of any legislation that may be 
enacted, and could be handled with existing resources.  DLS further advises that if other 
legislation is passed requiring driver handbook changes, economies of scale could be 
realized. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  A similar bill was introduced as SB 527 in the 2002 session, SB 
128 in the 2001 session, SB 404 in the 2000 session, SB 597 of the 1999 session, SB 151 
of the 1998 session and SB 365 of the 1997 session.  All these bills were referred to the 
Judicial Proceedings Committee and all received an unfavorable report. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Insurance Institute for 
Highway Safety, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Department of 
Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
lc/jr    
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