2004 Regular Session


File Code: Criminal Law - Procedure Prior Year Introduction As: HB 789/03 - JUD Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 287
Sponsored By:
Delegates Amedori, Anderson, Barkley, Bartlett, Bates, Bohanan, Boschert, Boteler, Boutin, Cadden, Cluster, Costa, DeBoy, Donoghue, Dwyer, Eckardt, Edwards, Elmore, Feldman, Frank, Fulton, Gilleland, Glassman, Griffith, Haddaway, Hennessy, Hogan, Impallaria, James, Jennings, Kach, Kelly, Krebs, Leopold, Malone, McComas, McDonough, McKee, McMillan, Minnick, Myers, O'Donnell, Owings, Parrott, Shank, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Sossi, Stocksdale, Stull, Weldon, and Zirkin
Criminal Law - Death Penalty - Multiple Murders


Adding the commission of more than one murder in the first degree within a specified time period to the list of aggravating circumstances a court or jury is required to consider before a defendant can be sentenced to death; and generally relating to the death penalty.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/3 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Carmen Amedori, District 5A
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34A
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Terry R. Gilleland, Jr., District 32
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate W. Louis Hennessy, District 28
Delegate Patrick N. Hogan, District 3A
Delegate Rick K. Impallaria, District 7
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Herb McMillan, District 30
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Delegate Bobby A. Zirkin, District 11
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Criminal Law
( 2-303 , 2-303 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered