2004 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Income Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 478
Sponsored By:
Delegates Jones, Anderson, Barkley, Benson, Bobo, Bronrott, Brown, Burns, Busch, Cane, C. Davis, Franchot, Frush, Gaines, Gordon, Griffith, Gutierrez, Harrison, Heller, Howard, Hubbard, Kelley, King, Kirk, Krysiak, Lee, Madaleno, Mandel, Marriott, McHale, McIntosh, Menes, Minnick, Moe, Montgomery, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Oaks, Paige, Parker, Patterson, Petzold, Ramirez, Rosenberg, Ross, Taylor, V. Turner, and Vaughn
Millionaires' Tax Surcharge


Increasing the State income tax rate on individuals whose Maryland taxable income exceeds $500,000 to 7.75%; requiring the Comptroller to waive specified interest and penalty for the 2004 taxable year; and applying the Act to tax years after 2003.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/10 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Anthony G. Brown, District 25
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Michael E. Busch, District 30
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Michael R. Gordon, District 17
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Darryl A. Kelley, District 26
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Rosetta C. Parker, District 47
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Tax - General
( 10-105 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered