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Economic Matters     
 

  Cigarette Licenses - Disciplinary Authority - Grounds 
 

 
This bill authorizes the Comptroller to deny a tobacco license to an applicant, reprimand 
a tobacco licensee, or revoke or suspend a tobacco license if the individual (1) is 
convicted for selling tobacco products to minors; or (2) is liable for a civil violation 
relating to the sale of tobacco products to minors. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to money paid in 
lieu of cigarette license revocation or suspension beginning in FY 2005 and beyond.    
General fund expenditure increase of $45,100 in FY 2005 due to the hiring of an 
additional hearing officer and related expenses at the Comptroller’s Office.  Future years 
reflect annualization and inflation. 
 

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
GF Revenue - - - - - 
GF Expenditure 45,100 53,600 56,700 59,900 63,500 
Net Effect ($45,100) ($53,600) ($56,700) ($59,900) ($63,500) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 
 

Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The Comptroller may deny a license to sell cigarettes, reprimand a 
licensee, or suspend or revoke a license if the applicant or licensee: 
 

• fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a license for the applicant 
or another person; 

• fraudulently or deceptively uses a license; 

• fails to comply with the Maryland Cigarette Sales Below Cost Act or regulations 
adopted under that Act; 

• fails to comply with State statute regarding cigarette sales of less than 20 per 
package; 

• buys cigarettes for resale in violation of a license or from a person who is not a 
cigarette manufacturer, licensed subwholesaler, licensed vending machine 
operator, or licensed wholesaler; 

• is convicted, under federal law or the laws of any other state, of a felony or a 
misdemeanor that is a crime of moral turpitude and directly related to the fitness 
and qualification of the applicant or licensee; or 

• has not paid a tax due before October 1 of the year after the tax became due. 
 
It is a misdemeanor to distribute a tobacco product to a minor.  Except for a criminal 
violation for distributing a tobacco product to a minor, whenever a cigarette retailer’s 
license is suspended or revoked by the Comptroller, the licensee may petition the 
Comptroller to pay a sum of money in lieu of serving the suspension or revocation.  
Money paid in lieu of license suspension or revocation must be paid into the State’s 
general fund.  The amount of money may not exceed $2,000 for retail licensees, and not 
exceed $50,000 for other licensees.  The Comptroller may allow the payment if the public 
welfare and morals would not be impaired by allowing the licensee to operate during the 
suspension or revocation period, and the payment will achieve the desired disciplinary 
purposes. 
 
The Comptroller also may deny a county license to sell cigarettes, reprimand a county 
licensee, or suspend or revoke a county licensee if the applicant or licensee fraudulently 
or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a license for the applicant or another person, 
fraudulently or deceptively uses a license, or fails to comply with the Maryland Cigarette 
Sales Below Cost Act and regulations adopted under the Act. 
 
Background: In 2003, approximately 11% of cigarette retailers investigated by the 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration of the Department of Health and Mental 
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Hygiene (DHMH) were found to be noncompliant with provisions regarding the sale of 
tobacco products to minors. 
 
State Revenues:  To the extent that a cigarette retailer whose license is suspended due to 
a criminal or civil law or under a county code restricting the sale of tobacco to minors 
opts to offer money in lieu of suspension or revocation, general fund revenues could 
increase minimally in fiscal 2005 and beyond.   
 
State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures could increase by an estimated $45,073 
in fiscal 2005, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2004 effective date.  This estimate 
reflects the cost of hiring one hearing officer to adjudicate the additional license and 
suspension revocation hearings due to the provisions of this bill.  It includes a salary, 
fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses.  The 
information and assumptions used in calculating the estimate are stated below: 
 

• 696 citations for criminal and civil violations for selling a tobacco product to 
minors were issued in fiscal 2003; and  

• the Comptroller will pursue disciplinary action against those convicted of these 
violations. 

 
Salary and Fringe Benefits $36,983 

Operating Expenses   8,090 

Total FY 2005 State Expenditures $45,073 

 
Future year expenditures reflect:  (1) a full salary with 4.6% annual increases and 3% 
employee turnover; and (2) 1% annual increases in ongoing operating expenses.   
 
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  Many cigarette retailers are small businesses. To the 
extent that this bill causes additional license suspension and revocations, these small 
businesses could potentially have decreased sales of tobacco products and general 
merchandise. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Comptroller’s Office, Department of Health and Mental 
Hygiene, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/mdr    

First Reader - February 11, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Robert J. Rehrmann  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




