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Handgun Permits - Expiration 
 

 
This departmental bill alters provisions applicable to the expiration dates of handgun 
permits.  Under current law, a permit expires on the last day of the permit holder’s birth 
month two years after the date the initial permit is issued, and every three years 
thereafter.  Under this bill, the expiration date for the initial permit would be on the last 
day of the permit holder’s birth month three years after the date the initial permit is 
issued, and every three years thereafter, or on an earlier date designated by the Secretary 
of State Police not less than two years after the issuance of the permit. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal.  This bill would defer an estimated $43,100 in general fund 
revenue from handgun permit renewals from FY 2005 to 2006.  Expenditures would not 
be affected. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
GF Revenue ($43,100) $43,100 $0 $0 $0 
Expenditure $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Net Effect ($43,100) $43,100 $0 $0 $0 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  The Department of State Police (DSP) has determined that this 
bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached).  Legislative Services concurs 
with this assessment. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A person may not wear, carry, or transport a handgun unless the person 
qualifies under an express exemption or has been issued a permit to carry a handgun.  
Current exemptions include on-duty law enforcement personnel of the U.S., of Maryland, 
or of any county or city in Maryland. 
 
To be issued a permit to carry a handgun by the Secretary of State Police, an applicant:  
(1) must be 18 years of age or older; (2) must not have been convicted of a felony or 
misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been 
imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been granted relief under federal 
law; (3) if the person is younger than 30 years of age, must not have been committed to a 
facility for juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for a crime of 
violence, a felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than two 
years; (4) must not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation 
and must not presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, 
or an alcoholic; (5) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability which may 
reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to himself or other law-abiding 
person; and (6) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a 
handgun.  “Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary 
as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger. 
 
An initial handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit, a $50 
renewal fee is due and every three years thereafter. 
 
Background:  DSP believes that this bill will streamline handgun permit processes and 
provide some operational efficiencies for its Licensing Division. 
 
State Revenues:  DSP handles about 1,425 initial handgun permits and about 2,300 
permit renewal requests, annually.  Approximately 50% of the annual permit renewals are 
first time renewals.  DSP estimates that, under this bill, 75% of the first time renewal fees 
(or $43,125) would be lost in fiscal 2005, but recovered in fiscal 2006.  After fiscal 2006, 
permit renewal revenue should remain relatively stable as all permit renewals would 
come due on a three-year cycle. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, Department of Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
mh/jr    

First Reader - March 11, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




