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This departmental bill eliminates the 15-day limit on temporary vehicle registrations and 
authorizes the Motor Vehicle Administrator to determine the duration of the temporary 
registration; it also removes references to temporary registration plates and cards.  The 
bill requires all vehicles, whether purchased in- or out-of-state, to be inspected within 60 
days of registration and eliminates the expiration date for temporary registrations issued 
to used vehicles purchased out of the State. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures will decrease by 
approximately $43,300 in FY 2005.  Future years reflect annualization and growth in 
registrations.  TTF revenues will not be affected because the $20 temporary registration 
fee will still be charged. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
SF Expenditure 43,300 58,300 58,900 59,500 60,100 
Net Effect ($43,300) ($58,300) ($58,900) ($59,500) ($60,100) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  Minimal or none.  Local governments may realize administrative 
efficiencies for vehicle registration. 
  
Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Transportation has determined that 
this bill has a meaningful impact on small business (attached).  The Department of 
Legislative Services (DLS) advises that tag and titling services will likely benefit through 
increased business; however, it does not concur with this assessment.  
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may issue a temporary 
registration card and a temporary plate to allow a registration applicant to drive a vehicle 
pending action on the application; the administrator can determine the temporary 
registration period but it cannot exceed 15 days.  The law also stipulates that temporary 
registration plates can only be issued for vehicle sales between persons who are not 
licensed dealers and for transfers of certain used trucks that are registered or will be 
registered. 
 
The MVA may withhold delivery of a certificate of title for a used vehicle purchased out-
of-state, pending receipt of an inspection certificate, and issue a temporary registration if 
given satisfactory evidence that the vehicle is located outside Maryland.  A used vehicle 
purchased outside of Maryland must be inspected immediately on its arrival in the State, 
and a temporary registration issued for such a vehicle expires at the end of the current 
registration year or six months from the date of issuance, whichever is earlier.  While an 
inspection is required for any used vehicle to be titled and permanently registered, the 
law does not specify the inspection deadline for a used vehicle bought in the State.  An 
inspection certificate is valid for 90 days for a used vehicle that is not owned and held by 
a licensed dealer. 
 
Background:  The procedure for registering used vehicles currently involves two 
transactions that require two separate visits to an MVA office – one to issue the 
temporary paper tag and the second to process the vehicle inspection and the two-year 
registration and issue permanent plates.  In fiscal 2003, the MVA processed 96,200 
temporary plates.   
 
The MVA advises that the proposed process will improve electronic access to vehicle and 
owner data to law enforcement agencies through the Maryland Interagency Law 
Enforcement System.  Temporary tag information is only available by telephone under 
the existing system. 
 
State Expenditures:  By eliminating the need to purchase paper registration tags, TTF 
expenditures will decrease by approximately $57,720 annually and $43,290 in fiscal 
2005, accounting for the October 1 effective date.  This estimate is based on the purchase 
of 96,200 plates that cost $.60 per set.  Annual savings will increase in the out-years as 
the number of vehicle registrations increase. 
 
The MVA also expects walk-in traffic for temporary plates to drop by as much as 25%, 
which will decrease the wait time for other transactions.  The process under the proposed 
bill will still require two transactions but will allow registration applicants to be issued 
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permanent metal plates immediately, with a short-term registration sticker.  Upon 
inspection of the vehicle and payment of the required fees, the applicant can receive a 
two-year registration sticker without visiting a full-service branch (e.g., at a kiosk or by 
mail). 
 
Small Business Effect:  The MVA advises that over 60 titling services operate in the 
State; all or most of them are small businesses that process permanent registration for 
vehicle owners for a fee.  The proposed change to the registration process will allow 
those businesses to offer a new service to customers by authorizing them to provide 
temporary registration stickers in addition to permanent plates.  The MVA estimates that 
business will increase by up to 25% as a result.  DLS observes that business may increase 
if customers wish to bypass the MVA to receive their plates but the level of impact 
cannot be estimated at this time.  
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of 
Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
n/jr    

First Reader - January 19, 2004 
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