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Calvert County, Queen Anne's County, and St. Mary's County - Alcohalic
Beverages - Class A Light WineLicense

This bill authorizes the boards of license commissioners in Calvert, Queen Anne's, and
St. Mary’s counties to issue a Class A light wine license to a holder of a Class 4
manufacturer’s limited winery license. The annual license fee is $50.

The hill takes effect June 1, 2004.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: None.
Local Effect: County revenues would increase by $50 for each Class A light wine
license issued in Calvert, Queen Anne's, and St. Mary’s counties. Currently, there are no
Class 4 manufacturer’s limited winery licensees in Calvert, Queen Anne's, or St. Mary’s
counties.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: The boards of license commissioners in Calvert, Queen Anne's, and St
Mary’s counties are not authorized to issue a Class A light wine license to the holder of a
Class 4 manufacturer’s limited winery license located in their respective counties.

The boards of license commissioners in Baltimore, Carroll, Dorchester, Frederick,
Garrett, Harford, Montgomery, Somerset, Talbot, and Washington counties are



authorized to issue a Class A light wine license to a holder of a Class 4 manufacturer’s
limited winery license. The annua license fee is $50 in every county, except
Montgomery County where the annual fee is $100. In Garrett County there is an issuance
fee of $50 in addition to the annual license fee.

Background: As of January 2004, there are 12 Class 4 manufacturer’s limited winery
licensees in Maryland. Currently, there are no Class 4 manufacturer’s limited winery
licensees in Calvert, Queen Anne's, or St. Mary’s counties.

Generdly, it takes a minimum of three years to start a winery and develop the resources
for making wine that is ready to be consumed. Calvert County advises that one
individual has expressed interest in starting a winery operation in the county. Queen
Anne's County advises that one winery has begun operations in the county. St. Mary’s
County advises that one winery has begun operations in the county.

The Comptroller’s Office advises that wineries may begin operations without holding any
type of winery license. The Comptroller’s Office further advises that, although wineries
must hold a winery license to sell their wine, wineries are not required to hold a winery
license to grow and sell grapes that are used in the production of wine.

The Association of Maryland Wineries advises that grape plants are very adaptable to
weather and growing conditions. The association further advises that former tobacco
farmers in Maryland who accepted the terms of the State's tobacco buyout program are
prohibited from growing tobacco; many of these farmers are now considering growing
grapes as a new crop.

Additional | nfor mation
Prior Introductions: None.
CrossFile: HB 431 (Delegate Sossi, et al.) — Economic Matters.

Information Source(s): Association of Maryland Wineries, Queen Anne's County,
Comptroller’s Office, Department of Legidlative Services
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