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This departmental bill authorizes the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to issue full 
driver’s licenses to holders of provisional licenses who have been convicted of moving 
violations after conclusion of the provisional driving period, but before the drivers have 
been able to attain full driver’s licenses.  The bill alters the definition of “offense” to 
mean a moving violation committed by a provisional license holder who was convicted 
of the violation and was not eligible for a full license at the time of the violation. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The bill’s requirements could be handled within existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Transportation has determined that 
this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached).  Legislative Services 
concurs with this assessment. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A driver’s license applicant who holds a learner’s instructional permit or 
who has been a licensed driver for less than 18 months in another state, country, or in the 
U.S. armed forces, is entitled to receive a provisional license if the applicant: 
 

• meets the minimum age requirement; 



 

SB 33 / Page 3 

• satisfies the learner’s instructional permit requirements; 

• passes a driver’s skill examination; 

• surrenders any issued learner’s permit; and 

• pays the required fee. 
 
A provisional license may only be issued to an individual who is at least the age of 16 
years and one month.  The provisional license must be clearly identified as such.  
Generally, an individual who holds a provisional license may not receive a full license 
sooner than 18 months after the individual first obtains the provisional license.  However, 
under specified circumstances, the MVA may issue a provisional license for a period of 
less than 18 months to an individual who has been licensed to drive in another state, 
country, or by the U.S. armed forces. 
 
If a provisional license holder has been convicted of a moving violation, he or she may 
not receive a full license sooner than 18 months after the date of the moving violation.  A 
provisional driver’s license holder who is convicted of a moving violation is subject to 
the sanctions that apply to the specific moving violation.  In addition, for a first 
conviction, the MVA must require the license holder to attend a driver improvement 
program.  For a second conviction, the MVA may suspend the holder’s provisional 
license for a maximum of 30 days.  For a third or subsequent conviction of a moving 
violation during the provisional license period, the MVA may suspend or revoke the 
holder’s license for up to 180 days. 
 
A provisional license issued to a driver at least 21 years old expires on the licensee’s birth 
date in the fifth year following issuance.  A provisional license issued to a driver under 
21 years expires 60 days after the holder’s twenty-first birthday.  A provisional license is 
renewable. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of 
Legislative Services 
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