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Vehicle Laws - Provisional Driver'sLicense Restriction for a Minor - Prohibition
against Minor s as Passengers

This bill requires the Motor Vehicle Administration (MV A) to impose a restriction on the
licenses of provisional license holders under the age of 18 that prohibits the licensee from
driving a motor vehicle with a passenger under the age of 18 until the 181% day (six
months) after the provisional driver’s license isissued. The restriction, which would be
imposed on each provisional driver’'s license, does not apply to a passenger who is a
spouse, daughter, son, stepdaughter, stepson, stepsister, stepbrother, or sibling of the
licensee. A police officer may only enforce this provision as a secondary violation (i.e.,
it cannot be the primary cause for stopping a motorist). The bill provides that a violation
of the restriction is a moving violation for which an individual may be fined up to $500
and assessed one point upon conviction.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potentially minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500
fine). Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would increase by $5,500 in FY
2005 due to one-time printing costs.

(indollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009
GF Revenue - - -
SF Expenditure 5,500 0 0 0 0
Net Effect ($5,500) $0 $0 $0 $0

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect
Local Effect: None. Enforcement could be handled with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: None.




Analysis

Current Law: The MV A may not issue a driver’s license to any individua who has not
reached the age of 17 years, 7 months; exemptions are alowed for the issuance of
noncommercial Class B, Class C, or Class M licenses. An applicant is entitled to receive
a provisional license if the applicant meets the minimum required age (16 years and 1
month) and satisfies the learner’s instructional permit requirements. The applicant must
also pass a driver skills or driver road examination, surrender any learner’s permit, and
pay the fee.

Under the Graduated Licensing System (GLS), a provisional licensee may not drive
unsupervised between 12 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied and supervised by
a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old or is driving to or from: (1) employment;
(2) aschool class or official school activity; (3) an organized volunteer activity; or (4) an
athletic event or related training session.

Chapter 456 of 2001 requires the MV A to place arestriction on each provisional driver’'s
license that prohibits licensees under the age of 18 from driving a vehicle if the driver and
each passenger are not restrained by a seatbelt unless a medical exception applies. For a
first offense on a provisional license, a driver may have to take a driver improvement
course. The MVA may suspend the offender’s provisional license for up to 30 days for
the second offense and may suspend or revoke the offender’ s provisional license for up to
180 days for athird or subsequent offense.

Background: Chapter 483 of 1998 established the provisional driver’s licensing system,
which became effective on July 1, 1999. The Nationa Traffic Safety Administration
rates the Maryland program as acceptable. Thirty-six states and the District of Columbia
have a three-stage GL S for young drivers. The other states require at least a mandatory
learner’s permit or an intermediate license with restrictions. According to the National
Conference of State Legidatures, the District of Columbia and 25 states, including
Delaware, New Jersey, South Carolina, and Virginia, now impose passenger restrictions
on novice drivers. In 2003, Connecticut, Illinois, and Maine added passenger restrictions
to provisional licenses.

Restrictions vary from allowing no passengers without the supervision of a 21-year-old
driver for the first 90 days that the license is issued (Indiana) to allowing no more than
three passengers younger than 19 (West Virginia). In California, drivers are prohibited
from transporting passengers under age 20 unless accompanied by a parent or an adult
over 25 for the first six months of their provisional license. A family exemption allows
teens unaccompanied by an adult to drive immediate family members under age 20
during the first six months with parental authorization.
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State Revenues. General fund revenues may increase minimally due to the penalty
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500
fine). Because the violation can only be enforced as a secondary violation and the
number of drivers under 18 is a small percentage of the driving population, any such
increase is assumed to be minimal.

State Expenditures. TTF expenditures would increase by $5,500 in fiscal 2005 to pay
for one-time printing costs for GLS forms and brochures. The Department of Legislative
Services observes that funding for the driver’s handbook will require updating regardless
of any legislation that may be enacted and could be handled with existing resources. The
MV A advises that the bill requires a restriction on a licensee that could be enforced as a
matter of State law and would not require a specific notation on each driver’s provisional
license.

Additional | nfor mation

Prior Introductions. Anidentical bill (SB 63 as amended) was passed by the Senate in
the 2003 session, and referred to the Environmental Matters Committee, which gave it an
unfavorable report. Similar bills have been introduced in four sessions preceding 2003.
A similar bill in the 2003 session, HB 658, was amended and reported favorably out of
the Environmental Matters Committee, but was then recommitted to the Environmental
Matters Committee, and no further action took place.

CrossFile: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation, National Conference
of State Legislatures, American Automobile Association, National Traffic Safety
Administration, Department of Legislative Services
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