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Motor Vehicles- Learners Permitsand Provisional Licenses - Restriction on Use
of a Wireless Communication Device While Driving

This bill requires the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to impose a restriction on
each provisional license, and each learner’ s instructional permit that prohibits the licensee
or permit holder from using a wireless communication device while operating a motor
vehicle. A wireless communication device is a hand-held or hands-free device used to
access a wireless or text messaging service. The prohibition does not apply if the
licensee or permit holder uses a wireless communication device while driving to contact a
0-1-1 system.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: Minima genera fund revenue increase from the applicable penalty
provision. Potential minimal increase in computer reprogramming costs in the MV A for
FY 2005 only.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: There are no restrictions in the Maryland Vehicle Law governing the use
of wireless communication devices while driving for provisiona license holders or
learner’s instructional permit holders. However, for good cause, the MVA may impose
on licensees any restrictions applicable that the MV A determines appropriate to assure
safe driving of a motor vehicle by the licensee. An individual may not drive a vehicle in



any manner that violates any restriction imposed by the MVA in a restricted or a
provisional license. If the MV A receives satisfactory evidence of any violation of a
restricted or provisional driver’s license provision, the MVA may suspend or revoke the
license. The licensee may request a hearing on the suspension or revocation. A driver
who violates a restriction imposed in a license is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject
to a maximum fine of $500. The fine currently assessed by the District Court for this
offenseis $55.

Background: In 2003, the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recommended
that all states prohibit holders of learner’s permits and intermediate or provisional
licenses from using interactive wireless communication devices while driving. This
recommendation was one of several pertaining to the overall problem of driver distraction
that was part of an NTSB final report on its investigation of a highway crash on February
1, 2002 that killed five people. A young woman who was talking on a cell phone and
driving a Ford Explorer at an estimated speed of 75 miles per hour lost control of her
vehicle while traveling northbound on the Capital Beltway near Largo, Maryland. The
Explorer crossed the median, climbed a guardrail, flipped over and landed on top of a
southbound Ford Windstar minivan. All five people in the two vehicles were killed.
NTSB found that the probable cause of the crash was the Explorer driver’s failure to
maintain control of her vehicle in windy conditions, her lack of driving experience,
unfamiliarity with the vehicle, speed, and distraction caused by using a hand-held
wireless telephone.

To date, two states, New Jersey and Maine have enacted laws that prohibit drivers under
21 or learner’s permit holders from using wireless communication devices while driving.
In 2003, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, South
Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin considered legislation that would prohibit
use of wireless devices by young drivers. Maine was the only state to pass this type of
legislation in 2003. The legislation in New Jersey was enacted in 2001.

In its accident investigation report, NTSB also recommended improved driver education
regarding the dangers of distracted driving. The board recommended that the American
Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association and the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration develop a module for driving education curriculums that
emphasizes the risks of distracted driving behavior. The board also recommended that
The Advertising Council develop a media campaign on the dangers of distracted driving.

One of the persistent issues with regard to regulating in this area has been the absence of
consistent findings or reliable statistics regarding the impact of cell phone use while
driving. Studies published by the New England Journa of Medicine, the Harvard Center
for Risk Analysis, and the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research
Center, among others, have proven to be inconclusive. While most legislative initiatives
have focused on hand-held phones, some recent studies, by the University of Utah and
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the Swedish National Road Administration, have indicated that wireless phone use, even
if the device is hands-free, is not any safer than driving with a hand-held wireless phone.
To date, 17 states, including Maryland, track data related to the causal factor of cell
phones or distracted driving in vehicle accidents. NTSB has recommended that the other
33 states and the District of Columbia pass legidlation to require data collection related to
cell phone use or distracted driving. The District of Columbia and 10 states did consider
this legidlation, but data collection legislation did not pass in 2003. However, seven
states (California, Delaware, Louisiana, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and
Virginia) have created commissions to study the impact of distractions on safe driving.

State Expenditures. The MV A advises that computer programming modifications to
the driver licensing system would be needed to add the restrictions required by the bill.
The changes could result in a one-time expenditure of $75,000 in special funds.
However, the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises that if other legislation
Is passed requiring computer programming changes, economies of scale could be
realized. This would reduce computer programming costs associated with this bill and
other legislation affecting the MVA system. Further, DLS advises that the increased
computer expenditure is an estimate, and that the MVA may be able to handle the
changes within existing resources.

Additional | nformation

Prior Introductions: In the 2003 session, HB 554, a bill that would have generaly
prohibited mobile telephone use by drivers under 18, was heard by the Environmental
Matters Committee, but then withdrawn. HB 554 was cross filed with SB 220, which
was referred to the Judicia Proceedings Committee, where it received an unfavorable
report.

Cross File: None. However, asimilar bill, HB 189, has been introduced and referred to
the Environmental Matters Committee.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Maryland
Department of Transportation, National Conference of State Legislatures, American
Automobile Association, Reuter News Service, The Washington Times, Department of
Legislative Services
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