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Vehicle Laws - Single Registration Plate

This bill institutes a one registration plate requirement for all registered vehicles and
repeals the requirement that certain classes of vehicles display both a front and rear
registration plate. The registration plate must be attached to the rear of the vehicle.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill’s requirements are not likely to materialy affect State Use
Industries (SUI). Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would decrease by
$467,800 in FY 2005. Out-year increases reflect inflation and annualization. Revenues
would not be affected.

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
SF Expenditure (467,800) (630,000) (636,300) (642,600) (649,000)
Net Effect $467,800 $630,000 $636,300 $642,600 $649,000

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Most classes of vehicles are required to display two registration plates.
Only three classes of vehicles are exempt from the two-plate requirement — Classes D
(motorcycle), F (tractor), and G (trailer). Class F vehicles are required to display the
registration plate on the front of the vehicle. Historic and antique vehicles must display



current registration plates in the places provided on the vehicle. The bill does not affect
this requirement. For temporary registrations, the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)
may issue only one temporary registration plate.

Each registration plate must display the name of the State and the registration number
assigned to the vehicle. After the plates have been issued, the MVA may order their
continued use in subsequent registration years and must issue a validation tab to show
payment of the vehicle registration fee.

A person may only drive a motor vehicle on a highway in Maryland with validated
registration plates, unless expressly otherwise authorized by the MVA. An owner of a
motor vehicle may not permit it to be driven on any highway in Maryland without
validated registration plates. Expired registration plates may not be displayed. A
violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor, subject to a penalty not exceeding $500.

Background: According to the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators,
21 states, including Delaware, Georgia, and Pennsylvania, issue one registration plate for
all vehicle classes — the rest require two plates. Several states only require one for certain
types of vehicles such as motorcycles, trailers, or al-terrain vehicles. Kansas issues two
plates but allows the vehicle owner to decide whether to display one or two plates.

A report by the National Conference of State Legislatures describes advantages and
disadvantages of a two-plate system. Supporters of such a system contend that a front
and rear license plate help vehicle law enforcement and increase safety. Disadvantages
of issuing two plates include potential fraud because the recipient can use one of the
plates for an unregistered vehicle and avoid paying registration taxes.

State Expenditures: Accounting for the bill’s October 1, 2004 effective date, TTF
expenditures would decline by approximately $467,789 in fiscal 2005 by eliminating the
need to issue two plates for each vehicle. Future year reductions reflect annualization
and inflation. The plate sales reflect fiscal 2003 activity (excluding MV A’s purchase of
single plates) and are likely to increase in future years.

The MV A purchases 924,430 pairs of plates and mails 30,700 pairs of plates annually.
Of al the plate sets, 841,151 are steel plate sets. Material savings from this bill are
estimated to be $0.60 per steel plate. The remaining 83,279 sets are specialty plates made
of aluminum. Material savings from this bill are estimated to be $0.74 per aluminum
plate. Annua postage savings for al license plate sets would be $57,400, assuming
$1.87 per mailing. The MVA now mails al plates by First Class due to complaints of
lost plates from vehicle owners.
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State Revenues. The State vehicle registration fees are set in statute and are not changed
by this bill.

SUI, the self-supporting prison arm of the Maryland Division of Correction, purchases
the raw material for license plates and manufactures them for sale to the MVA. The
bill’s one license plate requirement would reduce SUI specia fund revenues, but would
also likely reduce special fund expenditures by the same amount, making the bill’s
impact revenue-neutral.

SUI advises however, that it purchases the raw material for plates by contract with a
vendor that provides a volume discount. Reducing the materials purchase order by half
could impair the volume discount and increase SUI’s unit cost. If the unit cost for plate
materials increases, SUI could pass on the cost increase to the MV A, thereby eliminating
some of the savings projected by the MVA. Furthermore, the Department of Legidative
Services notes that MV A has an inventory of unused plate sets and could purchase even
fewer platesin the near term.

SUI further advises that prison inmates produce all license plates. It requires almost the
same labor to produce one plate as it does to produce two plates. However, fewer
inmates may be needed to produce license plates in the future.

Additional | nfor mation

Prior Introductions: Substantially similar bills were introduced as SB 61 and HB 111
in the 2003 session and HB 475 in the 2001 session. SB 61 received an unfavorable
report from the Judicial Proceedings Committee; HB 475 received an unfavorable report
from the Commerce and Government Matters Committee. The only difference between
SB 61 and previous bills are minor technical corrections.

CrossFile: None, athough SB 299 isidentical.

I nfor mation Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation, American Association
of Motor Vehicle Administrators, National Conference of State Legis atures, Department
of Legidative Services
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