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  Family Law - Child Abuse and Neglect Investigations - Parental Rights 
 

  
This bill requires a local department of social services or the appropriate law enforcement 
agency to advise an alleged child abuser or neglecter of the specific complaints made 
against the individual, if the individual is the child’s parent.  It also requires all local 
department of social services employees investigating child abuse and neglect allegations 
against a parent to be trained in protecting the child’s and parent’s constitutional rights. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The bill’s requirements could be handled with existing budgeted resources. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  After receiving a child abuse or neglect report of suspected child abuse or 
neglect of a child who lives in Maryland and that is alleged to have occurred in the State, 
the local department of social services and/or the appropriate law enforcement agency 
must promptly investigate the report to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the child 
or children. 
 
Within 24 hours after receiving a report of suspected physical or sexual child abuse and 
within five days after receiving a report of suspected child neglect or mental injury that 
occurred in Maryland to a child who lives in the State the local department or law 
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enforcement agency must:  (1) see the child; (2) attempt to have an on-site interview with 
the child’s caretaker; (3) decide on the child’s safety and of other children in the 
household; and (4) decide on the safety of the other children in the care or custody of the 
alleged abuser. 
 
To the extent possible, a child abuse or neglect investigation must be completed within 
10 days after receiving the notice of the suspected abuse or neglect.  Within 10 days after 
receiving the first notice of suspected abuse or neglect of a child who lives in Maryland 
and was allegedly abused in the State, the local department or law enforcement agency 
must report the preliminary investigation findings to the local State’s Attorney.  Within 
five business days after the investigation is completed, the local department and the law 
enforcement agency, if the law enforcement agency participated in the investigation, 
must make a complete written report of its findings to the local State’s Attorney. 
 
Promptly after receiving a report of suspected child abuse or neglect of a child who lives 
in Maryland but was allegedly abused or neglected outside of the State, the local 
department of social services must:  (1) forward the report to the appropriate agency 
outside of Maryland that is authorized to receive and investigate reports of suspected 
child abuse and neglect; (2) cooperate to the extent requested with the out-of-state agency 
investigating the report; and (3) if determined appropriate by the local department, 
interview the child to assess whether the child is safe and provide services to the child 
and the child’s family. 
 
With certain exceptions, all records and reports concerning child abuse and neglect are 
confidential, and their unauthorized disclosure is a misdemeanor subject to imprisonment 
of up to 90 days and/or a fine of up to $500.  The persons to whom a record or report may 
be disclosed on request include:  (1) a person who is the alleged child abuser or the 
person who is suspected of child neglect if that person is responsible for the child’s 
welfare; and (2) a person who is the alleged child abuser or the person who is suspected 
of child neglect if that person is responsible for the child’s welfare.  In both cases, 
provisions must be made for the protection of the identity of the reporter or any other 
person whose life or safety is likely to be endangered by disclosing the information.  
 
Background:  In fiscal 2003, there were 32,936 child protective service investigations 
that occurred statewide.  The Department of Human Resources (DHR) reports that about 
44% of these cases were neglect investigations, 37% were physical abuse investigations, 
and 12% were sexual abuse investigations.  Of the 32,936 investigations, 7,294 of the 
cases were closed with indications of abuse or neglect and 8,435 were closed as 
unsubstantiated with regard to abuse or neglect.  Of the 7,294 cases with indications of 
abuse or neglect, 53% had indications of neglect, 29% of the cases had indications of 
physical abuse, and 18% had indications of sexual abuse.  Of the 8,435 cases closed with 
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unsubstantiated findings, about 45% were physical abuse cases, 43% were neglect cases, 
and about 12% were sexual abuse cases. 
 
According to DHR, a great majority of the child abuse and neglect allegations involve 
one or more of the child’s parents. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  SB 899 (Senators Mooney and Stone) – Judicial Proceedings. 
 
Information Source(s):  Allegany County, Montgomery County, Department of Human 
Resources, Baltimore City, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
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