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This departmental bill increases, from $10 to $75, the maximum fee that the Maryland 
State Department of Education (MSDE) can impose for the issuance and renewal of 
certificates for teachers and other professional personnel.  The fees charged must equal 
the cost of issuing and renewing the certifications.  MSDE must pay the fees to the 
Comptroller who must distribute the funds to a Professional Educator Certification Fund 
established in the bill.  The fund must be used to cover the actual documented direct and 
indirect costs of fulfilling the duties associated with issuing and renewing certifications. 
 
The bill takes effect July 1, 2004. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Special fund revenues and expenditures would increase by an estimated 
$1.6 million annually due to an increase in certification fees.  General fund expenditures 
would decrease by an equal amount.  The proposed FY 2005 budget includes a $1.6 
million general fund reduction contingent upon enactment of this bill. 
  

($ in millions) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
SF Revenue $1.6 $1.6 $1.6 $1.6 $1.6 
GF Expenditure (1.6) (1.6) (1.6) (1.6) (1.6) 
SF Expenditure 1.6 1.6 1.6 1.6 1.6 
Net Effect $1.6 $1.6 $1.6 $1.6 $1.6 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  None.  Certification fees are paid by applicants, not local school systems. 
  

 



 

Small Business Effect:  MSDE has determined that this bill has minimal or no impact on 
small business (attached).  Legislative Services concurs with this assessment. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The State Board of Education may establish a fee, not to exceed $10, for 
issuance or renewal of a teacher certificate.  The fees are placed in a special fund that is 
used to support MSDE’s Division of Certification and Accreditation. 
 
Background:  MSDE advises that the current teacher certification fee of $10 has not 
increased since 1987.  MSDE did an analysis of certification and licensing fees for other 
occupations and for teachers in other states and found Maryland’s teacher certification 
fees to be low on both measures.  The analyses are shown below in Exhibit 1. 
 
 

Exhibit 1 
Comparison of Maryland’s Teacher Certification Fees 

to Other Professions and Other States 
 

Other Professions in Maryland  Other States 
       
Profession Fee Term  State Fee Term 
       
Teacher $10  Five years  Maryland $10  Five years 
Cosmetologist 25  Two years  Texas 40  Five years 
Plumber-Master 70  Two years  Virginia 50  Five years 
Landscape Architect 200  Two years  North Carolina 55  Five years 
Speech Therapist 250  Two years  Florida 56  Five years 
Physical Therapist 325  Two years  New York 100  Five years 
       
Source:  Maryland State Department of Education 

 

 
The proposed fiscal 2005 State budget includes $3.7 million for MSDE’s Division of 
Certification and Accreditation, $2.8 million in general funds, $328,000 in special funds, 
and $587,000 in federal funds.  The proposed budget also includes a reduction of $1.6 
million in general funds contingent on the passage of this bill. 
 
State Fiscal Effect:  Special fund revenues for the Professional Educator Certification 
Fund would increase by an estimated $1.6 million beginning in fiscal 2005, assuming an 
increase in the certification fee to $70.  General fund expenditures would decrease by 
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$1.6 million and would be replaced with a parallel increase in special fund expenditures.  
The information and assumptions used to develop these estimates are detailed below. 
 
• There will be approximately 26,064 applicants for certification in fiscal 2005. 

 
• Although MSDE anticipated an increase in certification fees of $50 (from $10 to 

$60), an increase to $70 would be required to generate the additional $1.6 million 
needed to offset the contingent reduction in general funds.  It is assumed that a 
certification fee of $70 would be imposed. 

 
• In total, $1.6 million in new revenues would be added to special fund revenues of 

$227,946 proposed in the fiscal 2005 State budget for collection of the $10 
certification fees.  A total of $1.8 million would be placed in the Professional 
Educator Certification Fund and would be used to cover the costs of issuing and 
renewing certifications. 

 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland State Department of Education, Department of 
Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 10, 2004 

 lc/hlb    
 
Analysis by:  Mark W. Collins  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 
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