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Sex Offenders - Registration before Release from Custody

This bill requires the registration of a sexual offender with the appropriate supervising
authority, under provisions applicable to the Crimes Against Children and Sexual
Offender Registry, within 48 hours of the registrant’s release from the custody of the
supervising authority rather than on or before the person’s release date, and as an
aternative to the other current provisions governing timely registration. It appliesonly to
State residents.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. This bill would cause local detention facilities to refrain from
submitting registration statements to the Department of Public Safety and Correctional
Services for inclusion on the registry in advance of the offender’s actual release from
custody. This has resulted in a person’s name appearing on the registry far in advance of
release and registration.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A resident registrant must register with the supervising authority on or
before the date that the registrant is released, is granted probation before or after
judgment or a suspended sentence, or receives a sentence that does not include an
imprisonment term.



Under provisions relating to the Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry,
Maryland has four categories of persons convicted of sexua offenses: (1) achild sexua
offender; (2) an offender; (3) a sexually violent offender; and (4) a sexually violent
predator.

Sexual offenders are required to register with the registry for aterm of either 10 years or
life depending on the offense. An offender and a sexually violent offender must register
annually. A sexualy violent predator must register every 90 days. Under the State's
sexual offender registration laws, a State’s Attorney may request that a sexual offender be
designated a sexually violent predator.

Lifetime registration isrequired for: (1) sexually violent predators; (2) persons convicted
of a sexually violent offense; (3) persons convicted of child abuse for commission of a
sexual act involving penetration of a child under 12 years old; and (4) recidivist sexual
offenders.

Background: Maryland first enacted sexual offender registration legislation under the
federal Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender
Registration Program during the 1995 session (Chapter 142 of 1995). Because the
federal statute has been amended and because there have been updates and changes to
federal regulations, State laws underwent revisions in 1997 (Chapter 754), 1998
(Chapters 473 and 521), 1999 (Chapter 317), and 2002 (Chapters 112, 194, and 266) to
bring Maryland in compliance with Wetterling guidelines.

Additional | nfor mation
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFilee None.

Information Source(s): Montgomery County, Charles County, Department of Public
Safety and Correctional Services, Department of Legislative Services
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