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Maryland Health Care Commission - Fees - Health Care Practitioners 
 

  
This bill prohibits the Maryland Health Care Commission from assessing fees on 
registered massage practitioners. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Special fund revenues to the commission could decline by $4,200 in FY 
2005 as registered massage practitioners would no longer pay the commission’s $34 
biennial fee.  Future years reflect biennial licensure renewal.  No effect on expenditures.   
  

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
SF Revenue ($4,200) $0 ($4,200) $0 ($4,200) 
Expenditure $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Net Effect ($4,200) $0 ($4,200) $0 ($4,200) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  Registered massage practitioners would no longer pay 
the commission’s fee. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law/Background:  Statute requires the independent commission to assess a fee 
on all hospitals, nursing homes, payors, and health care practitioners.  Total fees assessed 
may not exceed $10 million in any fiscal year.  The commission performs a variety of 
functions including developing health care containment cost strategies, analyzing the 
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medical care database and reporting on cost variations among health care practitioners, 
and determining the cost of mandated health insurance services in the State. 
 
Chapter 565 of 2001 required the commission to adopt regulations allowing a waiver of 
the assessment requirements for certain health care practitioners.  The commission was 
required to consider the health care practitioner’s hourly wages and give preference to 
exempting health care practitioners with an hourly wage substantially below other health 
care practitioners. 
 
The average annual wage for health care practitioners overall was determined to be 
$30,246 or $14.54 per hour.  The commission is not authorized to waive the assessment 
of a particular group that earns this annual wage or more.  The commission determined 
that both registered massage practitioners and certified massage therapists earned 
between $30 and $40 per hour.  Therefore, the commission states it is not allowed to 
waive its $34 biennial fee for those practitioners.   
 
This bill would apply to only registered massage practitioners (124) and not certified 
massage therapists (2,417).   
 
State Revenues:  Maryland Health Care Commission special fund revenues could 
decrease by $4,216 in fiscal 2005, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2004 effective 
date.  Registered massage practitioners must renew their biennial licenses by October 15, 
2004, which currently includes the commission’s $34 biennial fee.  Although some 
registered massage practitioners might pay their renewal fee prior to the bill’s effective 
date, Legislative Services assumes that by having an effective date prior to the renewal 
deadline the fee reduction would count for all of fiscal 2005 and fiscal 2006.  The 
commission receives its fee revenue from the practitioners for fiscal 2005 and fiscal 2006 
in fiscal 2005.  Future years reflect biennial reduction in revenues for the commission. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.       
 
Cross File:  HB 154 (Delegate Hubbard) – Health and Government Operations.   
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of 
Legislative Services  
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Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr    

First Reader - February 11, 2004 
Revised - Clarification - February 13, 2004 
Revised - Updated Information - February 27, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Lisa A. Daigle  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




