May 26, 2004

The Honorable Michael E. Busch
Speaker of the House
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Mr. Speaker:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, I have today vetoed House Bill 876 - Frederick County - Solid Waste Disposal Fee or Tax.

This bill authorizes the Board of County Commissioners of Frederick County to establish, charge, levy, and collect a fee or tax for specified costs for the collection and disposal of solid waste. It specifies that the Board's authority extend to all municipal corporations in the County.

Senate Bill 606, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me on May 11, 2004, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign House Bill 876.

Very truly yours,
Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr.