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This bill limits to non-homicide cases the requirement that charges against a criminal
defendant be dismissed and that no further prosecution under related charges be
undertaken if a decision of the trial court excluding evidence or requiring the return of
property alleged to have been seized in violation of the U.S. Constitution, the Maryland
Constitution, or the Maryland Declaration of Rights is affirmed following an appeal by
the State.

The bill applies prospectively to appeals taken after the October 1, 2005 effective date.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential expenditure increase from continued incarcerations and
additional appeals by the State. The actual impact depends on the number of appeals
taken by the State.

Local Effect: Minimal — see above.

Small Business Effect: None.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Analysis

Current Law: In a case involving a crime of violence, and in cases involving certain
drug offenses, the State may appeal a decision of a trial court that excludes evidence
offered by the State or requires the return of property alleged to have been seized in



violation of the U.S. Constitution, the Maryland Constitution, or the Maryland
Declaration of Rights.

A “crime of violence” means:

abduction;

arson in the first degree;

kidnapping;

manslaughter (except involuntary manslaughter);
mayhem;

maiming;

murder;

rape;

robbery;

carjacking;

armed carjacking;

sexual offense in the first or second degree;

use of a handgun in the commission of a felony or other crime of violence;
an attempt to commit any of the above crimes;

assault in the first degree; and

assault with intent to murder, rape, rob, or commit a first or second degree sexual
offense.

The appeal is required to be made before jeopardy attaches to the defendant. However, in
all cases the appeal must be taken no more than 15 days after the decision has been
rendered and must be diligently prosecuted.

Before taking the appeal, the State is required to certify to the court that the appeal is not
taken for purposes of delay and that the evidence excluded or the property required to be
returned is substantial proof of a material fact in the proceeding. The appeal must be
heard and the decision rendered within 120 days of the time that the record on appeal is
filed in the appellate court. Otherwise, the decision of the trial court shall be final.

If the trial court’s ruling is affirmed, the applicable charges against the defendant must be

dismissed. In that case, the State may not prosecute the defendant on those specific
charges or on any other related charges arising out of the same incident.
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Background: The State had no right to appeal an order granting a defendant’s motion to
suppress evidence under common law. Until 1982, the State had no statutory right to
appeal such an order, because suppression orders are not final judgments.

Several other jurisdictions allow the State to appeal the exclusion of evidence prior to
jeopardy attaching to the defendant. Indiana, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina,
North Dakota, and South Dakota statutorily allow the state to appeal the exclusion of
evidence, provided that jeopardy has not attached. However, these states do not mandate
dismissal in the event that the appeals court affirms the lower court’s ruling.

The current statute has received substantial attention in the cases of two defendants
charged with first degree murder in connection with a death that occurred in the
Annapolis Historic District in September 2002. Each defendant confessed to the crime,
but their confessions were ruled inadmissible by the trial court. The Court of Appeals
ruled that the statements of one of the defendants was inadmissible. The case is now
pending before the U.S. Supreme Court. The Court of Appeals ruled in February 2004
that the confession of the other defendant was, in fact, admissible and remanded the
matter for trial. That defendant was convicted of first-degree murder in January.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures could increase minimally due to more
people being committed to Division of Correction (DOC) facilities. The number of
people affected by this change is expected to be minimal.

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.
Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,850
per month. This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds,
personnel, or facilities. Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC
inmate (including medical care and variable costs) is $310 per month. Excluding medical
care, the average variable costs total $120 per month.

Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City
are sentenced to local detention facilities. For persons sentenced to a term of between 12
and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the sentence be
served at a local facility or DOC. The State reimburses counties for part of their
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days. State per diem
reimbursements for fiscal 2006 are estimated to range from $17 to $65 per inmate
depending upon the jurisdiction. Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are
generally incarcerated in DOC facilities. The Baltimore City Detention Center, a State-
operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions.

General fund expenditures could also increase minimally for the Administrative Office of
the Courts due to more appeals by the State. It is likely that more appeals of the
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suppression of evidence will be taken by the State due to the removal of the disincentive
to appeal — the potential for dismissal of all charges.

Local Expenditures: Expenditures could increase minimally if defendants are detained,
tried, and convicted. Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their
facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.
Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $33 to
$119 per inmate in fiscal 2006.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 304 of 2004 contained a similar provision. It was withdrawn
after a hearing in the Judiciary Committee.

Cross File: HB 25 (Delegate Sophocleus, et al.) — Judiciary.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Office of the
Public Defender, Office of the Attorney General, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 13, 2005
mp/jr Revised - Senate Third Reader - April 1, 2005

Analysis by: Kineta A. Rotan Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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