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Criminal Procedure - Sexual Crimes Involving a Minor - Term of Probation

This bill authorizes a court to order probation for a time longer than a defendant’s
sentence for a defendant convicted of sexual abuse of a minor or, when the victim was a
minor, of first or second degree rape or first, second, or third degree sexual offense. The
authorization is limited to 10 years if ordered in a circuit court or 6 years if ordered in the
District Court. The written consent of the defendant is required.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: While this bill could minimally add to caseloads for the Division of Parole
and Probation, its requirements could be handled with existing budgeted resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 287 of 2003 authorized a court to extend a convicted person’s
probation for an additional three years in the District Court or five years in a circuit court
only for the purpose of making restitution. The Act allowed such a probation to be
supervised or unsupervised.

Chapter 217 of 2004 increased, from one to three years, the maximum incarceration
penalty for a person convicted of a fourth degree sexual offense if the person was
previously convicted of a sexual crime or sexual abuse of a minor.
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Chapter 285 of 2004 prohibits a person with intent to commit certain sexual offenses
from knowingly “soliciting” a minor, or a law enforcement officer posing as a minor, to
engage in activities that would be unlawful for the person to engage in under provisions
relating to second degree rape or second or third degree sexual offense. For purposes of
jurisdiction, a violation is considered to be committed in Maryland if the solicitation
originated in Maryland or is received in the State. A violator is guilty of a felony and
subject to maximum penalties of imprisonment for 10 years and/or a fine of $25,000.

Background: In fiscal 2004, there were 313 offenders ordered to probation for first or
second degree rape or first, second, or third degree sexual offense. The Division of
Parole and Probation was unable to determine how many of those persons committed an
offense against a minor.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 1104 and SB 121 of 2004, similar bills, failed. SB 121 passed
the Senate and both received an unfavorable report from the House Judiciary Committee.

Cross File: SB 91 (Senator Brochin, et al.) – Judicial Proceedings.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Commission on
Criminal Sentencing Policy, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
(Division of Parole and Probation), Department of Legislative Services
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