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Economic Matters

Consumer Protection - Home Builders Registration - Manufactured Homes

This bill provides that, by adding and altering definitions, the builder of a “manufactured
home” is subject to the Maryland Home Builder Registration Act. A home builder that
installs an industrialized building intended for residential use or a mobile home is
responsible to the owner for correcting any defect in any component incorporated into it,
including industrialized buildings, manufactured homes, or mobile homes. Under the
bill, a manufactured home is a structure that: (1) is transportable in sections; (2) is at
least 8 feet in width by at least 30 feet in length; (3) is built on a permanent chassis; and
(4) i1s designed to be used as a dwelling, when connected to the required utilities. A
manufactured home includes a modular or prefabricated home and the pluming, heating,
air-conditioning, and electrical systems contained in the structure.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2005.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Special fund revenues would increase in FY 2006 by $300 for each home
builder that registers under the bill. Special fund revenues would increase in the out-
years depending on the number of additional new registrants and the number and type of
renewals. Expenditures would not be affected.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.



Analysis

Current Law: A person may not act as a home builder in the State unless registered as a
home builder under the Maryland Home Builder Registration Act with the Consumer
Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General. Registrants must maintain
liability insurance, pay registration fees, and post their registration numbers on properties
at which they are working. A home builder who installs an industrialized building
intended for residential use or a mobile home is responsible to the owner for correcting
any defects in any component incorporated into it, except for those industrialized
buildings or mobile homes that are the responsibility of the manufacturer under laws
administered by the Department of Housing and Community Development.

State Revenues: The number of additional persons registering as a home builder
because of the bill cannot be accurately estimated, but is assumed to be minimal. By
regulation, the initial registration fee is $300. By statute, renewal fees are based on the
number of building permits issued for new homes in the previous year. The fee is $150 if
the builder was issued permits for 10 or fewer homes and $300 if the builder was issued
permits for 11 or more homes in the previous year. Money from these registrations is
deposited in a special fund intended to defray the costs of regulation. Special fund
revenues would increase by $300 in fiscal 2006 for each new registration. In subsequent
years, revenues would increase by $300 for each new registration and either $150 or $300
for each renewal. Most renewals under the bill will probably be at the $300 level.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Office of the
Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division), Department of Legislative Services
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