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Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Health and Government Operations

Massage Therapists - Certification and Registration - Educational Qualifications

This bill revises the Massage Therapy Advisory Committee’s educational requirements
for certified massage therapists and registered massage practitioners. An applicant can
satisfy the educational requirement if the individual, on or after March 1, 2004, was
enrolled in a board-approved school and graduated from that school no later than
December 31, 2004.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill’s requirements could be handled with existing budgeted resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Certified massage therapists and registered massage practitioners are
regulated by the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners’ Massage Therapy Advisory
Committee.

A certificate applicant must satisfactorily complete at least 60 credit hours of education at
an institution of higher education approved by the board and the Maryland Higher
Education Commission (MHEC). An applicant also must complete 500 hours of
education in a board-approved program for the study of massage therapy that includes
specified content.
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A registration applicant must complete 500 hours of education in a board-approved
program for the study of massage therapy that includes specified content.

Background: There are 2,167 active certified massage therapists and 216 active
registered massage practitioners in Maryland.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: HB 545 (Delegate Levy) – Health and Government Operations.

Information Source(s): Maryland State Department of Education, Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene, Maryland Higher Education Commission, Department of
Legislative Services
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