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Judiciary Judicial Proceedings

Burglary and Daytime Housebreaking - Mandatory Sentences - Retroactive
Effect

This bill allows a person serving a term of confinement for burglary or daytime
housebreaking that includes a mandatory minimum sentence imposed before October 1,
1994 to apply for and receive one review of the mandatory minimum sentence. The
panel may strike the restriction against parole, but may not reduce the length of the
sentence. An application for review must be filed on or before September 30, 2006.

The bill takes effect October 1, 2005 and terminates September 30, 2006.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential increase or decrease in general fund expenditures for
incarceration. The actual impact depends on the number of requests for sentence review
filed and whether the sentences are reduced or lengthened. While this bill could lead to
an increase in review panel hearings and revisions to mandatory minimum sentences, it is
not expected to have a significant impact on the operations or finances of the Judiciary or
the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.

Local Effect: Minimal – see above.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Every person convicted of a crime by a circuit court of the State and
sentenced to serve more than two years imprisonment by a judge is entitled to apply for
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and have a single review of that sentence. An application for review must be filed within
30 days of the sentencing.

A panel of three or more trial judges of the judicial circuit in which the sentencing court
is located conducts the review. A person has no right to have a sentence reviewed more
than once. The judge who sentenced the convicted person shall not be one of the
members of the panel, but may sit with the panel in an advisory capacity.

If a hearing is held, the panel generally may increase, decrease, or otherwise modify the
sentence by majority rule. However, a mandatory minimum sentence may be decreased
only by a unanimous vote of the panel. Without holding a hearing, the panel may decide
that the sentence under review should remain unchanged. The review panel must file a
written decision within 30 days of the application’s filing date.

In addition, the Maryland Rules provide that a court has revisory power and control over
a sentence upon a motion filed within 90 days after its imposition: (1) in the District
Court, if an appeal has not been perfected; and (2) in a circuit court, whether or not an
appeal has been filed. Thereafter, the court has revisory power and control over the
sentence in case of fraud, mistake, or irregularity, or as otherwise provided in the
Maryland Rules in cases concerning desertion and nonsupport of spouse, children, or
destitute parents. The court may not increase a sentence after the sentence has been
imposed, except that it may correct an evident mistake in the announcement of a sentence
if the correction is made on the record before the defendant leaves the courtroom
following the sentencing proceeding. The court may correct an illegal sentence at any
time.

A person who has served two separate terms of confinement after conviction for a crime
of violence who is convicted of a third crime of violence is subject to a mandatory
minimum sentence of 25 years imprisonment. If the person is subsequently convicted of
a fourth crime of violence, the mandatory sentence is life imprisonment without parole.

Under common law and former statutes, an element of the felony of burglary was that it
take place in the nighttime. The former statutory felony of daytime housebreaking
prohibited breaking into and entering a dwelling house in the daytime.

Current law provides penalties for first, second, third, and fourth degree burglary. There
is no reference in any of these statutes to the time of day at which the activity occurs.

Background: Prior to the enactment of Chapter 712 of 1994, burglary and daytime
housebreaking were considered crimes of violence that triggered these mandatory
sentences. Daytime housebreaking was defined as breaking into a dwelling house in the
daytime, with intent to commit murder or a felony, or to steal or take away personal
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goods or anything of value. Chapter 712, which deleted these crimes from the list of
violent crimes to which mandatory minimum sentences apply, took effect on October 1,
1994.

In Cox v. State (134 Md. App. 466), the Court of Special Appeals held that there was no
retroactive right to a sentence review. The defendant was convicted of housebreaking in
1992 and received a mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years. After several appeals, the
defendant applied for a review of sentence by a three-judge panel. The statute allowing
panel review had an effective date of July 1, 1999 and there was no provision in the
statute allowing for retroactive review. His request was denied by the circuit court and
the defendant appealed. The Court of Special Appeals held that there was no right to
retroactive review of sentence due to the presumption against retroactivity and the
General Assembly’s rejection of a bill that would have allowed review of sentences
imposed prior to July 1, 1999.

State Fiscal Effect: Data is not readily available on the number of people sentenced to
mandatory minimum jail terms for burglary or daytime housebreaking prior to July 1,
1999. General fund expenditures could increase or decrease minimally as a result of
changes to inmates’ sentences as provided by the review panels due to inmates having
their sentences lengthened or reduced. The number of people who would have their
sentence changed cannot be reliably predicted, but is assumed to be small.

The Administrative Office of the Courts advises, by way of illustration, that in fiscal
2001, there were 121 applications filed for review of sentence. In that year, 6 petitions
were withdrawn; 5 sentences were decreased; 1 sentence was increased; and 97 sentences
were unchanged (not all applications are heard in the year they are filed). It is unknown
how many of these sentences, if any, involved mandatory minimum sentences.

Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,850
per month. Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new Division of
Correction inmate (including medical care and variable costs) is $310 per month.
Excluding medical care, the average variable costs total $120 per month.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 331 of 2004, an identical bill, received an unfavorable report
from the Judiciary Committee.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): State’s Attorneys’ Association, Judiciary (Administrative
Office of the Courts), Office of the Public Defender, Department of Public Safety and
Correctional Services, Department of Legislative Services
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