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Education - Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists - Licensing Fee
Reimbursement

This bill requires the State to reimburse audiologists and speech-language pathologists
for licensing fees if they: (1) provide audiology and speech-language services on a third-
party basis in schools; and (2) are licensed by the State Board of Audiologists, Hearing
Aid Dispensers, and Speech-Language Pathologists. An audiologist or speech-language
pathologist must reimburse the State for the full amount received if all of the
requirements for renewal of a license are not completed or services are not provided to
schools on a third-party billing basis. The State Board of Education must adopt
regulations to implement and administer the program.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2005.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund expenditures would increase by an estimated $259,600 in FY
2006 to pay licensing fees for audiologists and speech-language pathologists and provide
for the administration of the program. Future year expenditure estimates reflect a stable
number of initial license fee reimbursements each year, the biennial license renewal
cycle, and annualization and inflation in the administrative costs. Revenues would not be

affected.

(in dollars) FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
GF Expenditure 259,600 33,400 260,900 34,900 262,500
Net Effect ($259,600) ($33,400) ($260,900) ($34,900) ($262,500)

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect



Local Effect: Local school expenditures could decrease minimally in school systems
that currently pay the licensing fees for audiologists and speech-language pathologists.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: The license application fee for an audiologist or speech-language
pathologist is $150, and the biennial renewal fee is $252. Licenses are renewed in even-
numbered years.

Background: Chapter 194 of 2003 established the Task Force to Study the Availability
of Audiology and Speech-language Services. The task force released its findings and
recommendations on December 31, 2003. One of the task force recommendations is to
include audiologists and speech-language pathologists in legislation addressing
recruitment and retention efforts in schools.

The Maryland State Teachers Association (MSTA) advises that many audiologists and
speech-language pathologists working in schools have national rather than State
certification. MSTA further advises that a recent regulatory adjustment to Medicaid
requires service providers to hold State licensure to qualify for federal Medicaid
reimbursement. As a result, more audiologists and speech-language pathologists are now
pursuing State licenses at a cost of $150 for the initial license and $252 for each license
renewal.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures would increase by an estimated
$259,600 in fiscal 2006. This estimate reflects the costs of reimbursing audiologists and
speech-language pathologists for license fees and hiring one quarter-time specialist at the
Maryland State Department of Education to administer the new program. It includes the
license fee reimbursements, a quarter-time salary, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs,
and ongoing operating expenses. The following information and assumptions were used
in calculating the estimate.

o In fiscal 2004, approximately 150 audiologists and speech-language pathologists
paid the $150 license application fee. Assuming this number is relatively stable,
reimbursements for the initial license fee would cost approximately $22,500 in
fiscal 2006.

o In fiscal 2004, approximately 900 audiologists and speech-language pathologists
renewed their licenses at a cost of $252 each. There is a biennial renewal cycle for
HB 1238 / Page 2



the licenses, with fees paid in even-numbered fiscal years. Assuming the number
of audiologists and speech-language pathologists remains relatively stable,
reimbursements for license renewals would total $226,800 in fiscal 2006.

Fiscal 2006 Fiscal 2007
License Fee Reimbursements $249,300 $22,500
Salaries and Fringe Benefits 7,795 10,725
Operating Expenses 2,543 186
Total State Expenditures $259,638 $33,411

Future year expenditures reflect: (1) an estimated $22,500 annually for application fee
reimbursements; (2) an estimated $226,800 in even-numbered fiscal years for license
renewal fee reimbursements; (3) 4.6% annual increases and 3% employee turnover; and
(4) 1% annual increases in ongoing operating expenses.

Local Expenditures: MSTA advises that several local school systems currently
reimburse audiologists and speech-language pathologists who work in schools for the
cost of licenses. If the State pays the reimbursements, school expenditures in the local
school systems that pay these costs would decrease.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Maryland State Department of Education, Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene, Maryland State Teachers Association, Department of

Legislative Services
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