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Ways and Means Budget and Taxation

Recordation and Transfer Taxes - Exemptions - Domestic Partners

This bill exempts the transfer of property between domestic partners and former domestic
partners from the recordation tax and State and county transfer taxes under specified
circumstances. Specified evidence of domestic partnership or former domestic
partnership must be submitted in order to qualify for the exemptions provided for by the
bill.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2005.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential decrease in State transfer tax revenue. Expenditures would not
be affected.

Local Effect: Potential decrease in local transfer and recordation tax revenue. Local
expenditures would not be affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Property subject to a mortgage or deed of trust that is transferred between
a spouse, former spouse, son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, parent, stepparent, son-in-
law, daughter-in-law, stepson-in-law, stepdaughter-in-law, parent-in-law, stepparent-in-
law, grandchild, or step grandchild is exempt from transfer and recordation taxes.



HB 1298 / Page 2

Background: The counties and Baltimore City are authorized to impose locally
established recordation tax rates on any business or person: (1) conveying title to real
property; or (2) creating or giving notice of a security interest (i.e., a lien or
encumbrance) in real or personal property, by means of an instrument of writing.

The State and counties also impose a transfer tax. The State transfer tax rate is 0.5% of
the consideration payable for an instrument of writing conveying title to, or a leasehold
interest in, real property (0.25% for first-time Maryland home buyers). In some
jurisdictions a local property transfer tax may be imposed on instruments transferring title
to real property. A distinction is made in the local codes between instruments
transferring title such as a deed and certain leaseholds and instruments securing real
property such as a mortgage. Except in Prince George’s County, mortgages are not
subject to the tax.

State Fiscal Effect: State special fund revenues would decrease to the extent that
properties are transferred between domestic partners. However, the amount of any
decrease depends on the number of domestic partnerships or former domestic
partnerships that exist in Maryland, the number of partners that own property, the number
that subsequently transfer property, and the amount of consideration for each property.
However, at this time the number of domestic partnerships and the number of property
transfers between domestic partners cannot be reliably estimated.

As a point of reference, the State transfer tax on a property valued at $250,000 is $1,250.
An exemption pursuant to the bill would result in a special fund revenue decrease of
$1,250 for each property transfer affected.

Local Fiscal Effect: Local recordation and transfer tax revenues would decrease to the
extent that properties are transferred between domestic partners. However, the amount of
any decrease depends on the number of domestic partnerships or former domestic
partnerships that exist in Maryland, the number of partners that own property, the number
that subsequently transfer property, and the amount of consideration for each property.
However, at this time the number of domestic partnerships and the number of property
transfers between domestic partners cannot be reliably estimated.

As a point of reference, the Anne Arundel County transfer tax is 1% and the county
recordation tax is $3.50 per $500 of consideration. On a property valued at $250,000 the
transfer tax is $2,500 and the recordation tax is $1,750. An exemption pursuant to the
bill would result in a county revenue decrease of $4,250.
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Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): State Department of Assessments and Taxation, Montgomery
County, Prince George’s County, Garrett County, Dorchester County, Baltimore County,
Anne Arundel County, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:
ncs/hlb

First Reader - March 11, 2005

Analysis by: Michael Sanelli Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
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