L5 6lr1979 CF 6lr1978

By: Senator Hafer Introduced and read first time: January 27, 2006 Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 9, 2006 CHAPTER\_\_\_\_ 1 AN ACT concerning 2 Local Government - Tri-County Council for Western Maryland -3 Membership FOR the purpose of altering the membership of the Tri-County Council for Western 5 Maryland; altering the method by which certain members are selected for membership to the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland; providing for 6 certain limitations on the terms of certain members; and generally relating to 7 the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland. 8 9 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

- 10 Article 20A Tri-County Council for Western Maryland
- 11 Section 2-101 and 2-102
- 12 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 13 (2005 Replacement Volume)
- 14 BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,
- 15 Article 20A Tri-County Council for Western Maryland
- 16 Section 2-103 and 2-104
- 17 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 18 (2005 Replacement Volume)
- 19 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
- 20 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

## **UNOFFICIAL COPY OF SENATE BILL 334** 1 Article 20A - Tri-County Council for Western Maryland 2 2-101. 3 (a) The Council shall adopt bylaws governing the procedures and policies of 4 the membership. The Council shall consist of [27] THE FOLLOWING 23 members[, 23 of 5 (b) which shall be voting members and 4 of which shall be nonvoting members. 7 The voting membership of the Council shall consist of the following 23 (c) 8 members]: 9 (1) From Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties: 10 (i) 9 representatives of the county governments, 3 from each 11 county, appointed by their respective county commissioners; and 12 3 municipal elected officials, 1 from each county, appointed by (ii) 13 their respective [municipal governments] BOARDS OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS; 14 From the members of the House of Delegates of Maryland, the 15 chairman, or the chairman's designee, of the Allegany County Delegation, the Garrett County Delegation, and the Washington County Delegation, each of whom shall reside, respectively, in Allegany County, Garrett County, and Washington County; 18 The 2 members of the Senate of Maryland representing the region 19 and residing in Allegany County, Garrett County, or Washington County; and 20 6 private citizens, 2 each from Allegany County, Garrett County, and 21 Washington County, respectively, that are: 22 Appointed by their respective BOARDS OF county 23 [governments] COMMISSIONERS; 24 Not listed under paragraphs (1), (2), and (3) of this subsection; (ii) 25 and Not elected officials [of a general purpose unit of local 26 (iii) 27 government] nor employees of a unit of local government [who have been appointed 28 to represent that government. 29 (d) The nonvoting members of the Council are the members of the General

- 30 Assembly who reside in Allegany County, Garrett County, or Washington County and
- 31 who are not voting members of the Council].
- 32 2-102.
- 33 The members who hold membership by virtue of their elected or appointed
- 34 position hold office only during their term of office. The members-at-large serve at
- 35 the pleasure of [elected membership of each county] THEIR RESPECTIVE BOARDS OF

## **UNOFFICIAL COPY OF SENATE BILL 334**

- 1 COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND THEIR TERM OF OFFICE AS A MEMBER SHALL
- 2 COINCIDE WITH THE TERM OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS THAT
- 3 APPOINTED THEM.
- 4 2-103.
- Vacancies on the Council shall be filled for the duration of the unexpired term in
- 6 the same manner as provided for the original appointment.
- 7 2-104.
- 8 Members of the Council serve without compensation.
- 9 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect
- 10 October 1, 2006.