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Business Occupations and Professions - Stationary Engineers - Qualifications

This bill requires the State Board of Stationary Engineers, for the one-year period ending
May 31, 2007, to waive any examination requirement under the Maryland Stationary
Engineers Act and issue the appropriate grade of stationary engineer’s license to an
applicant who has lawfully provided stationary engineering services in accordance with
services a licensee at that grade is authorized to provide for a specified period prior to
application. Beginning June 1, 2007, an applicant may still qualify based on a record of
service but must take an examination. The bill also allows the board to authorize an
applicant to take an examination and qualify for a license based on work experience (part
of which may be fulfilled by education) substantially equivalent to current work
experience requirements.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2006.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund revenues could increase by $12,800 in FY 2007. Future year
revenues reflect biennial license renewal and a 95% renewal rate. The board could
handle the additional workload within existing budgeted resources.

(in dollars) FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011
GF Revenue $12,800 $0 $12,100 $0 $11,500
Expenditure $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Net Effect $12,800 $0 $12,100 $0 $11,500

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect

Local Effect: None.



Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: Under the Maryland Stationary Engineers Act, an individual must be
licensed by the board in order to provide stationary engineering services in the State.
There are five grades (Grade 1 requiring the most experience; Grade 5, the least) of
stationary engineer licenses generally distinguishable by the authority of the licensee to
oversee the operation of a boiler at a particular level of horsepower. Different education
and experience requirements apply for each successive grade of license, generally
requiring experience as a lower-grade stationary engineer (toward which education can
be credited), being licensed as or having experience as another specified type of engineer,
or completion of a four-year degree in mechanical engineering. Applicants must take an
examination before being licensed and must pay application, examination, and license
fees in the process, which are paid into the general fund. Licenses are issued for two-year
terms.

An applicant that holds an active license in another state equivalent to the license sought
may have the examination requirement waived by the board upon a majority vote of the
members then serving, if the other state’s requirements for obtaining the license are at
least equivalent to Maryland’s requirements.

Chapter 613 of 2005, which created the Maryland Stationary Engineers Act, requires an
individual who provides stationary engineering services in Baltimore City to be licensed
by the board on or after October 1, 2005, and an individual who provides stationary
engineering services in any other jurisdiction on or after October 1, 2005, to be licensed
by the board on or after July 1, 2006.

Background: Chapter 613 of 2005 also created the State Board of Stationary Engineers.
The board replaced the Board of Examining Engineers which regulated and licensed
examining engineers, also known as stationary engineers, in Baltimore City. At the time,
several thousand stationary engineers outside of the city also held licenses issued by the
Board of Examining Engineers despite not being required to be licensed by law, often
due to employer requirements. These stationary engineers, along with stationary
engineers in Baltimore City, that were actively licensed by the Board of Examining
Engineers were brought into the new licensing system without needing to meet education,
experience, and examination requirements. However, stationary engineers that were
working legally without a license, outside of Baltimore, did not have a similar
opportunity. This bill would allow those stationary engineers to qualify for a license
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based on their experience, without having to take an examination for a one-year period
ending May 31, 2007, after which the stationary engineers could still qualify based on
their experience but would need to take an examination.

By allowing the board to authorize applicants to take an examination and be licensed
based on work experience equivalent to current requirements, the bill appears to allow
stationary engineers that may not meet current requirements or the requirements in the
bill of having provided a certain level of services for a number of consecutive years, but
nevertheless have previous stationary engineer education and experience equivalent to
current requirements, to be licensed at a level commensurate to their education and
experience upon taking an examination. Because current work experience requirements
generally entail experience as a lower-grade stationary engineer or being licensed as or
having experience as another specified type of engineer, a previously unlicensed
stationary engineer outside of Baltimore City that has experience at a certain level
presumably might need to start out with a lower-grade license, under the current
requirements, despite having experience and/or education commensurate to a higher
grade.

State Revenues: The Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) advises
the bill’s changes would mostly affect stationary engineers outside of Baltimore City who
would otherwise seek to obtain a Grade 1, 2, or 3 license, if not for the current
requirements of prior experience under a lower-grade license. DLLR advises it cannot
estimate whether, in the absence of the bill, these stationary engineers would apply for a
Grade 4 or 5 license or not apply at all (DLLR advises many would not be able to do the
work they are currently performing, under a Grade 4 or 5 license).

DLLR estimates that roughly 500 stationary engineers would seek to be licensed under
the bill’s provisions — 350 applying for Grade 1 licenses ($65 license fee) and 150
applying for Grade 2 and 3 licenses ($50 license fee). Assuming that, without the bill,
these stationary engineers would apply for a Grade 4 or 5 license ($35 license fee),
general fund revenues would increase by $12,750 in fiscal 2007. Future year revenues
reflect biennial license renewal and a 95% renewal rate.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department
of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 13, 2006
ncs/ljm

Analysis by: Scott D. Kennedy Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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